lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 15 May 2020 11:29:17 -0300
From:   Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <arnaldo.melo@...il.com>
To:     Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>
Cc:     Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...omium.org>,
        Kajol Jain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
        John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>,
        Jin Yao <yao.jin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@....com>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, bpf@...r.kernel.org,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/8] libbpf hashmap: Localize static hashmap__* symbols

Em Fri, May 15, 2020 at 11:17:07AM +0200, Jiri Olsa escreveu:
> On Thu, May 14, 2020 at 11:56:20PM -0700, Ian Rogers wrote:
> > Localize the hashmap__* symbols in libbpf.a. To allow for a version in
> > libapi.
> > 
> > Before:
> > $ nm libbpf.a
> > ...
> > 000000000002088a t hashmap_add_entry
> > 000000000001712a t hashmap__append
> > 0000000000020aa3 T hashmap__capacity
> > 000000000002099c T hashmap__clear
> > 00000000000208b3 t hashmap_del_entry
> > 0000000000020fc1 T hashmap__delete
> > 0000000000020f29 T hashmap__find
> > 0000000000020c6c t hashmap_find_entry
> > 0000000000020a61 T hashmap__free
> > 0000000000020b08 t hashmap_grow
> > 00000000000208dd T hashmap__init
> > 0000000000020d35 T hashmap__insert
> > 0000000000020ab5 t hashmap_needs_to_grow
> > 0000000000020947 T hashmap__new
> > 0000000000000775 t hashmap__set
> > 00000000000212f8 t hashmap__set
> > 0000000000020a91 T hashmap__size
> > ...
> > 
> > After:
> > $ nm libbpf.a
> > ...
> > 000000000002088a t hashmap_add_entry
> > 000000000001712a t hashmap__append
> > 0000000000020aa3 t hashmap__capacity
> > 000000000002099c t hashmap__clear
> > 00000000000208b3 t hashmap_del_entry
> > 0000000000020fc1 t hashmap__delete
> > 0000000000020f29 t hashmap__find
> > 0000000000020c6c t hashmap_find_entry
> > 0000000000020a61 t hashmap__free
> > 0000000000020b08 t hashmap_grow
> > 00000000000208dd t hashmap__init
> > 0000000000020d35 t hashmap__insert
> > 0000000000020ab5 t hashmap_needs_to_grow
> > 0000000000020947 t hashmap__new
> > 0000000000000775 t hashmap__set
> > 00000000000212f8 t hashmap__set
> > 0000000000020a91 t hashmap__size
> > ...
> 
> I think this will break bpf selftests which use hashmap,
> we need to find some other way to include this
> 
> either to use it from libbpf directly, or use the api version
> only if the libbpf is not compiled in perf, we could use
> following to detect that:
> 
>       CFLAGS += -DHAVE_LIBBPF_SUPPORT
>       $(call detected,CONFIG_LIBBPF)

And have it in tools/perf/util/ instead?


- Arnaldo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists