lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 15 May 2020 09:50:05 -0700
From:   Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>
To:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...omium.org>,
        Kajol Jain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
        John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>,
        Jin Yao <yao.jin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@....com>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, bpf@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>,
        Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>, Paul Clarke <pc@...ibm.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...hat.com>
Subject: [PATCH v2 5/7] perf test: Provide a subtest callback to ask for the
 reason for skipping a subtest

Now subtests can inform why a test was skipped. The upcoming patch
improvint PMU event metric testing will use it.

Signed-off-by: Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Jin Yao <yao.jin@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>
Cc: John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>
Cc: Kajol Jain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>
Cc: Paul Clarke <pc@...ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200513212933.41273-1-irogers@google.com
[ split from a larger patch ]
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...hat.com>
---
 tools/perf/tests/builtin-test.c | 11 +++++++++--
 tools/perf/tests/tests.h        |  1 +
 2 files changed, 10 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/builtin-test.c b/tools/perf/tests/builtin-test.c
index 3471ec52ea11..baee735e6aa5 100644
--- a/tools/perf/tests/builtin-test.c
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/builtin-test.c
@@ -429,8 +429,15 @@ static int test_and_print(struct test *t, bool force_skip, int subtest)
 	case TEST_OK:
 		pr_info(" Ok\n");
 		break;
-	case TEST_SKIP:
-		color_fprintf(stderr, PERF_COLOR_YELLOW, " Skip\n");
+	case TEST_SKIP: {
+		const char *skip_reason = NULL;
+		if (t->subtest.skip_reason)
+			skip_reason = t->subtest.skip_reason(subtest);
+		if (skip_reason)
+			color_fprintf(stderr, PERF_COLOR_YELLOW, " Skip (%s)\n", skip_reason);
+		else
+			color_fprintf(stderr, PERF_COLOR_YELLOW, " Skip\n");
+	}
 		break;
 	case TEST_FAIL:
 	default:
diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/tests.h b/tools/perf/tests/tests.h
index d6d4ac34eeb7..88e45aeab94f 100644
--- a/tools/perf/tests/tests.h
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/tests.h
@@ -34,6 +34,7 @@ struct test {
 		bool skip_if_fail;
 		int (*get_nr)(void);
 		const char *(*get_desc)(int subtest);
+		const char *(*skip_reason)(int subtest);
 	} subtest;
 	bool (*is_supported)(void);
 	void *priv;
-- 
2.26.2.761.g0e0b3e54be-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists