lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 20 May 2020 07:50:30 -0700
From:   Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>
To:     Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Kajol Jain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
        John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>,
        Jin Yao <yao.jin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@....com>,
        Paul Clarke <pc@...ibm.com>,
        Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Networking <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, bpf <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-perf-users <linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org>,
        Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@...ne.edu>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/7] Share events between metrics

On Wed, May 20, 2020 at 6:14 AM Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com> wrote:
>
> On Wed, May 20, 2020 at 12:28:07AM -0700, Ian Rogers wrote:
> > Metric groups contain metrics. Metrics create groups of events to
> > ideally be scheduled together. Often metrics refer to the same events,
> > for example, a cache hit and cache miss rate. Using separate event
> > groups means these metrics are multiplexed at different times and the
> > counts don't sum to 100%. More multiplexing also decreases the
> > accuracy of the measurement.
> >
> > This change orders metrics from groups or the command line, so that
> > the ones with the most events are set up first. Later metrics see if
> > groups already provide their events, and reuse them if
> > possible. Unnecessary events and groups are eliminated.
> >
> > The option --metric-no-group is added so that metrics aren't placed in
> > groups. This affects multiplexing and may increase sharing.
> >
> > The option --metric-mo-merge is added and with this option the
> > existing grouping behavior is preserved.
> >
> > Using skylakex metrics I ran the following shell code to count the
> > number of events for each metric group (this ignores metric groups
> > with a single metric, and one of the duplicated TopdownL1 and
> > TopDownL1 groups):
>
> hi,
> I'm getting parser error with:
>
> [jolsa@...va perf]$ sudo ./perf stat -M IPC,CPI -a -I 1000
> event syntax error: '..ed.thread}:W{inst_retired.any,cpu_clk_unhalted.thread}:W,{inst_retired.any,cycles}:W'
>                                   \___ parser error
>
> jirka

Ah, looks like an issue introduced by:
https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200520072814.128267-8-irogers@google.com/
as there is a missing comma. I'll investigate after some breakfast.

Thanks,
Ian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists