lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 21 May 2020 14:28:16 -0300
From:   Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>
To:     Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>
Cc:     Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Kajol Jain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
        John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>,
        Jin Yao <yao.jin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@....com>,
        Paul Clarke <pc@...ibm.com>,
        Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Networking <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, bpf <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-perf-users <linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org>,
        Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@...ne.edu>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 5/7] perf metricgroup: Remove duped metric group events

Em Thu, May 21, 2020 at 10:26:02AM -0700, Ian Rogers escreveu:
> On Thu, May 21, 2020 at 3:54 AM Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com> wrote:
> > ok, I misunderstood and thought you would colaps also M3 to
> > have A,B computed via M1 group and with separate D ...
> >
> > thanks a lot for the explanation, it might be great to have it
> > in the comments/changelog or even man page
> 
> Thanks Jiri! Arnaldo do you want me to copy the description above into
> the commit message of this change and resend?

Send as a follow on patch, please.

- Arnaldo

> This patch adds some description to find_evsel_group, this is expanded
> by the next patch that adds the two command line flags:
> https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200520072814.128267-7-irogers@google.com/
> When writing the patches it wasn't clear to me how much detail to
> include in say the man pages.
> 
> Thanks,
> Ian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists