lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 21 May 2020 13:43:25 +0200
From:   Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>
To:     Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Kajol Jain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
        John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>,
        Jin Yao <yao.jin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@....com>,
        Paul Clarke <pc@...ibm.com>,
        Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        bpf@...r.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org,
        Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@...ne.edu>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/7] Share events between metrics

On Wed, May 20, 2020 at 11:20:04AM -0700, Ian Rogers wrote:

SNIP

> There are 5 out of 12 metric groups where no events are shared, such
> as Power, however, disabling grouping of events always reduces the
> number of events.
> 
> The result for Memory_BW needs explanation:
> 
> Metric group: Memory_BW
>  - No merging (old default, now --metric-no-merge): 9
>  - Merging over metrics (new default)             : 5
>  - No event groups and merging (--metric-no-group): 11
> 
> Both with and without merging the groups fail to be set up and so the
> event counts here are for broken metrics. The --metric-no-group number
> is accurate as all the events are scheduled. Ideally a constraint
> would be added for these metrics in the json code to avoid grouping.
> 
> v2. rebases on kernel/git/acme/linux.git branch tmp.perf/core, fixes a
> missing comma with metric lists (reported-by Jiri Olsa
> <jolsa@...hat.com>) and adds early returns to metricgroup__add_metric
> (suggested-by Jiri Olsa).

Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>

thanks,
jirka

> 
> v1. was prepared on kernel/git/acme/linux.git branch tmp.perf/core
> 
> Compared to RFC v3: fix a bug where unnecessary commas were passed to
> parse-events and were echoed. Fix a bug where the same event could be
> matched more than once with --metric-no-group, causing there to be
> events missing.
> https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200508053629.210324-1-irogers@google.com/
> 
> Ian Rogers (7):
>   perf metricgroup: Always place duration_time last
>   perf metricgroup: Use early return in add_metric
>   perf metricgroup: Delay events string creation
>   perf metricgroup: Order event groups by size
>   perf metricgroup: Remove duped metric group events
>   perf metricgroup: Add options to not group or merge
>   perf metricgroup: Remove unnecessary ',' from events
> 
>  tools/perf/Documentation/perf-stat.txt |  19 ++
>  tools/perf/builtin-stat.c              |  11 +-
>  tools/perf/util/metricgroup.c          | 239 ++++++++++++++++++-------
>  tools/perf/util/metricgroup.h          |   6 +-
>  tools/perf/util/stat.h                 |   2 +
>  5 files changed, 207 insertions(+), 70 deletions(-)
> 
> -- 
> 2.26.2.761.g0e0b3e54be-goog
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists