lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 22 May 2020 09:49:49 +0200
From:   Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
To:     Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@...ev.pl>
Cc:     Stephane Le Provost <stephane.leprovost@...iatek.com>,
        Pedro Tsai <pedro.tsai@...iatek.com>,
        Andrew Perepech <andrew.perepech@...iatek.com>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        John Crispin <john@...ozen.org>,
        Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>,
        Mark Lee <Mark-MC.Lee@...iatek.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Fabien Parent <fparent@...libre.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Edwin Peer <edwin.peer@...adcom.com>,
        DTML <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Networking <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "moderated list:ARM/Mediatek SoC..." 
        <linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 06/11] net: ethernet: mtk-eth-mac: new driver

On Fri, May 22, 2020 at 9:44 AM Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@...ev.pl> wrote:
> śr., 20 maj 2020 o 23:23 Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de> napisał(a):
> > On Wed, May 20, 2020 at 7:35 PM Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@...ev.pl> wrote:
> > > śr., 20 maj 2020 o 16:37 Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de> napisał(a):

> > > My thinking was this: if I mask the relevant interrupt (TX/RX
> > > complete) and ack it right away, the status bit will be asserted on
> > > the next packet received/sent but the process won't get interrupted
> > > and when I unmask it, it will fire right away and I won't have to
> > > recheck the status register. I noticed that if I ack it at the end of
> > > napi poll callback, I end up missing certain TX complete interrupts
> > > and end up seeing a lot of retransmissions even if I reread the status
> > > register. I'm not yet sure where this race happens.
> >
> > Right, I see. If you just ack at the end of the poll function, you need
> > to check the rings again to ensure you did not miss an interrupt
> > between checking observing both rings to be empty and the irq-ack.
> >
> > I suspect it's still cheaper to check the two rings with an uncached
> > read from memory than to to do the read-modify-write on the mmio,
> > but you'd have to measure that to be sure.
> >
>
> Unfortunately the PHY on the board I have is 100Mbps which is the
> limiting factor in benchmarking this driver. :(
>
> If you're fine with this - I'd like to fix the minor issues you
> pointed out and stick with the current approach for now. We can always
> fix the implementation in the future once a board with a Gigabit PHY
> is out. Most ethernet drivers don't use such fine-grained interrupt
> control anyway. I expect the performance differences to be miniscule
> really.

Ok, fair enough. The BQL limiting is the part that matters the most
for performance on slow lines (preventing long latencies from
buffer bloat), and  you have that now.

       Arnd

Powered by blists - more mailing lists