lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 22 May 2020 11:31:41 -0300
From:   Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>
To:     kajoljain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com>
Cc:     Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
        John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>,
        Jin Yao <yao.jin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@....com>,
        Paul Clarke <pc@...ibm.com>,
        Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        bpf@...r.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org,
        Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@...ne.edu>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/7] Share events between metrics

Em Fri, May 22, 2020 at 02:55:46PM +0530, kajoljain escreveu:
> On 5/20/20 11:50 PM, Ian Rogers wrote:
> > Metric groups contain metrics. Metrics create groups of events to
> > ideally be scheduled together. Often metrics refer to the same events,
> > for example, a cache hit and cache miss rate. Using separate event
> > groups means these metrics are multiplexed at different times and the
> > counts don't sum to 100%. More multiplexing also decreases the
> > accuracy of the measurement.

<SNIP>
 
> > Ian Rogers (7):
> >   perf metricgroup: Always place duration_time last
> >   perf metricgroup: Use early return in add_metric
> >   perf metricgroup: Delay events string creation
> >   perf metricgroup: Order event groups by size
> >   perf metricgroup: Remove duped metric group events
> >   perf metricgroup: Add options to not group or merge
> >   perf metricgroup: Remove unnecessary ',' from events
 
> Reviewd-By: Kajol Jain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com>
> Tested-By: Kajol Jain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com> ( Tested it to see behavior with some metric groups in both x86 and Power machine)

Thanks, added to the patches,

- Arnaldo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists