lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 29 May 2020 19:22:50 +0200
From:   Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@...labora.com>
To:     Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>
Cc:     linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-rockchip@...ts.infradead.org,
        Emmanuel Grumbach <emmanuel.grumbach@...el.com>,
        Heiko Stuebner <heiko@...ech.de>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Vishal Kulkarni <vishal@...lsio.com>,
        Luca Coelho <luciano.coelho@...el.com>,
        Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>,
        kernel@...labora.com, Fabio Estevam <festevam@...il.com>,
        Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@...durent.com>,
        Chunyan Zhang <zhang.lyra@...il.com>,
        Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>,
        Allison Randal <allison@...utok.net>,
        NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>,
        Darren Hart <dvhart@...radead.org>,
        Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@...el.com>,
        Gayatri Kammela <gayatri.kammela@...el.com>,
        Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>,
        Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@...el.com>,
        Intel Linux Wireless <linuxwifi@...el.com>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...lanox.com>,
        Baolin Wang <baolin.wang7@...il.com>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...lanox.com>,
        Orson Zhai <orsonzhai@...il.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>,
        Support Opensource <support.opensource@...semi.com>,
        Enrico Weigelt <info@...ux.net>,
        Peter Kaestle <peter@...e.net>,
        Sebastian Reichel <sre@...nel.org>,
        Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>,
        Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Niklas Söderlund <niklas.soderlund@...natech.se>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 05/11] thermal: remove get_mode() operation of drivers

Hi Guenter,

W dniu 29.05.2020 o 17:49, Guenter Roeck pisze:
> On Thu, May 28, 2020 at 09:20:45PM +0200, Andrzej Pietrasiewicz wrote:
>> get_mode() is now redundant, as the state is stored in struct
>> thermal_zone_device.
>>
>> Consequently the "mode" attribute in sysfs can always be visible, because
>> it is always possible to get the mode from struct tzd.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@...labora.com>
> 
> There is a slight semantic change for the two drivers which still have
> a local copy of enum thermal_device_mode: Previously trying to read the
> mode for those would return -EPERM since they don't have a get_mode
> function. Now the global value for mode is returned, but I am not sure
> if it matches the local value.

Please see my replies to your comment about patch 4/11.

Regards,

Andrzej

Powered by blists - more mailing lists