lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed,  1 Jul 2020 18:29:34 +0530
From:   Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhavgupta40@...il.com>
To:     Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@...nel.org>,
        Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>, bjorn@...gaas.com,
        Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhav.varodek@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        David Dillow <dave@...dillows.org>,
        Ion Badulescu <ionut@...ula.org>,
        Netanel Belgazal <netanel@...zon.com>,
        Arthur Kiyanovski <akiyano@...zon.com>,
        Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@...zon.com>,
        Saeed Bishara <saeedb@...zon.com>,
        Zorik Machulsky <zorik@...zon.com>,
        Derek Chickles <dchickles@...vell.com>,
        Satanand Burla <sburla@...vell.com>,
        Felix Manlunas <fmanlunas@...vell.com>,
        Denis Kirjanov <kda@...ux-powerpc.org>,
        Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@...adcom.com>,
        Sriharsha Basavapatna <sriharsha.basavapatna@...adcom.com>,
        Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@...adcom.com>,
        Tariq Toukan <tariqt@...lanox.com>,
        Jon Mason <jdmason@...zu.us>
Cc:     Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhavgupta40@...il.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel-mentees@...ts.linuxfoundation.org,
        skhan@...uxfoundation.org
Subject: [PATCH v1 07/11] benet: use generic power management

With legacy PM, drivers themselves were responsible for managing the
device's power states and takes care of register states.

After upgrading to the generic structure, PCI core will take care of
required tasks and drivers should do only device-specific operations.

Thus, there is no need to call the PCI helper functions like
pci_enable/disable_device(), pci_save/restore_sate() and
pci_set_power_state().

Compile-tested only.

Signed-off-by: Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhavgupta40@...il.com>
---
 drivers/net/ethernet/emulex/benet/be_main.c | 22 +++++++--------------
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 15 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/emulex/benet/be_main.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/emulex/benet/be_main.c
index a7ac23a6862b..e26f59336cfd 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/emulex/benet/be_main.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/emulex/benet/be_main.c
@@ -6037,32 +6037,23 @@ static int be_probe(struct pci_dev *pdev, const struct pci_device_id *pdev_id)
 	return status;
 }
 
-static int be_suspend(struct pci_dev *pdev, pm_message_t state)
+static int __maybe_unused be_suspend(struct device *dev_d)
 {
-	struct be_adapter *adapter = pci_get_drvdata(pdev);
+	struct be_adapter *adapter = dev_get_drvdata(dev_d);
 
 	be_intr_set(adapter, false);
 	be_cancel_err_detection(adapter);
 
 	be_cleanup(adapter);
 
-	pci_save_state(pdev);
-	pci_disable_device(pdev);
-	pci_set_power_state(pdev, pci_choose_state(pdev, state));
 	return 0;
 }
 
-static int be_pci_resume(struct pci_dev *pdev)
+static int __maybe_unused be_pci_resume(struct device *dev_d)
 {
-	struct be_adapter *adapter = pci_get_drvdata(pdev);
+	struct be_adapter *adapter = dev_get_drvdata(dev_d);
 	int status = 0;
 
-	status = pci_enable_device(pdev);
-	if (status)
-		return status;
-
-	pci_restore_state(pdev);
-
 	status = be_resume(adapter);
 	if (status)
 		return status;
@@ -6234,13 +6225,14 @@ static const struct pci_error_handlers be_eeh_handlers = {
 	.resume = be_eeh_resume,
 };
 
+static SIMPLE_DEV_PM_OPS(be_pci_pm_ops, be_suspend, be_pci_resume);
+
 static struct pci_driver be_driver = {
 	.name = DRV_NAME,
 	.id_table = be_dev_ids,
 	.probe = be_probe,
 	.remove = be_remove,
-	.suspend = be_suspend,
-	.resume = be_pci_resume,
+	.driver.pm = &be_pci_pm_ops,
 	.shutdown = be_shutdown,
 	.sriov_configure = be_pci_sriov_configure,
 	.err_handler = &be_eeh_handlers
-- 
2.27.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists