lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 1 Jul 2020 13:23:28 +0300
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
To:     Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
Cc:     Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Jon <jon@...id-run.com>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux.cj@...il.com, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [net-next PATCH v2 1/3] net: phy: introduce find_phy_device()

On Wed, Jul 1, 2020 at 9:13 AM Calvin Johnson
<calvin.johnson@....nxp.com> wrote:
>
> The PHYs on a mdiobus are probed and registered using mdiobus_register().
> Later, for connecting these PHYs to MAC, the PHYs registered on the
> mdiobus have to be referenced.
>
> For each MAC node, a property "mdio-handle" is used to reference the
> MDIO bus on which the PHYs are registered. On getting hold of the MDIO
> bus, use find_phy_device() to get the PHY connected to the MAC.

...

> +       struct platform_device *pdev;

This...

> +       fwnode_mdio = fwnode_find_reference(fwnode, "mdio-handle", 0);
> +       dev = bus_find_device_by_fwnode(&platform_bus_type, fwnode_mdio);

> +       if (IS_ERR_OR_NULL(dev))

IS_ERR()?!

> +               return NULL;

> +       pdev =  to_platform_device(dev);
> +       mdio = platform_get_drvdata(pdev);

...and this can be simple:

mdio = dev_get_drvdata(dev);

> +       err = fwnode_property_read_u32(fwnode, "phy-channel", &addr);
> +       if (err < 0 || addr < 0 || addr >= PHY_MAX_ADDR)
> +               return NULL;

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

Powered by blists - more mailing lists