lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 13 Jul 2020 14:04:33 +0300
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
To:     Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
Cc:     Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Jon <jon@...id-run.com>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, linux.cj@...il.com,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [net-next PATCH v6 4/6] net: phy: introduce phy_find_by_mdio_handle()

On Mon, Jul 13, 2020 at 9:04 AM Calvin Johnson
<calvin.johnson@....nxp.com> wrote:
> On Sat, Jul 11, 2020 at 02:41:12PM -0700, Florian Fainelli wrote:
> > On 7/10/2020 11:55 PM, Calvin Johnson wrote:

...

> > > +   err = fwnode_property_read_u32(fwnode, "phy-channel", &addr);
> > > +   if (err)
> > > +           return ERR_PTR(err);
> > > +   if (addr < 0 || addr >= PHY_MAX_ADDR)
> >
> > Can an u32 ever be < 0?
>
> Will remove it.

Since it's harmless and we have a fix to shut the compiler up on this
kind of checks and Linus actually in favour of _seeing_ range checks
explicitly I think no need to drop, but it's up to you.


-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

Powered by blists - more mailing lists