lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 25 Jul 2020 13:48:16 +0300
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
To:     Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
Cc:     "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>, Al Stone <ahs3@...hat.com>,
        Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@....com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Jon <jon@...id-run.com>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, linux.cj@...il.com,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Paul Yang <Paul.Yang@....com>
Subject: Re: [net-next PATCH v7 1/6] Documentation: ACPI: DSD: Document MDIO PHY

On Sat, Jul 25, 2020 at 10:37 AM Calvin Johnson
<calvin.johnson@....nxp.com> wrote:
> On Fri, Jul 24, 2020 at 11:20:04PM +0300, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> > On Fri, Jul 24, 2020 at 11:13 PM Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com> wrote:
> > > On 7/24/20 1:12 PM, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> > > > On Fri, Jul 24, 2020 at 10:20 PM Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch> wrote:

...

> > > >> I think we need to NACK all attempts to add ACPI support to phylib and
> > > >> phylink until an authoritative ACPI Linux maintainer makes an
> > > >> appearance and actively steers the work. And not just this patchset,
> > > >> but all patchsets in the networking domain which have an ACPI
> > > >> component.
> > > >
> > > > It's funny, since I see ACPI mailing list and none of the maintainers
> > > > in the Cc here...
> > > > I'm not sure they pay attention to some (noise-like?) activity which
> > > > (from their perspective) happens on unrelated lists.
> > >
> > > If you what you describe here is their perception of what is going on
> > > here, that is very encouraging, we are definitively going to make progress.
> >
> > I can't speak for them. As a maintainer in other areas I expect that
> > people Cc explicitly maintainer(s) if they want more attention.
> > Otherwise I look at the mails to the mailing list just from time to
> > time. But this is my expectation, don't take me wrong.
>
> Sorry about this miss.
> In some past patch-set, I had added Rafael but somehow missed him this time.
>
> From the "MAINTAINERS" file, I got two maintainers. I don't know who else
> can help with this discussion. I'll add others whom I know from ACPI list.
> M:      "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>
> M:      Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>
>
> If you know others who can help, please add.
>
> Hi ACPI experts,
> Would you please help review this patchset and guide us.
>
> Please see the discussion on this patchset here:
> https://lore.kernel.org/linux-acpi/20200715090400.4733-1-calvin.johnson@oss.nxp.com/T/#t

I would recommend resending the entire series with an appropriate Cc list.
See below as well.

ACPI FOR ARM64 (ACPI/arm64)
M: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@....com>
M: Hanjun Guo <guohanjun@...wei.com>
M: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@....com>

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

Powered by blists - more mailing lists