lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 19 Aug 2020 15:43:38 +0200
From:   Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>
To:     "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@...il.com>
Cc:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Oleksij Rempel <linux@...pel-privat.de>,
        Philippe Schenker <philippe.schenker@...adex.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Dan Murphy <dmurphy@...com>,
        Kazuya Mizuguchi <kazuya.mizuguchi.ks@...esas.com>,
        Wolfram Sang <wsa+renesas@...g-engineering.com>,
        Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@...il.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>
Subject: [PATCH v3 1/7] dt-bindings: net: ethernet-controller: Add internal delay properties

Internal Receive and Transmit Clock Delays are a common setting for
RGMII capable devices.

While these delays are typically applied by the PHY, some MACs support
configuring internal clock delay settings, too.  Hence add standardized
properties to configure this.

This is the MAC counterpart of commit 9150069bf5fc0e86 ("dt-bindings:
net: Add tx and rx internal delays"), which applies to the PHY.

Signed-off-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>
Reviewed-by: Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>
---
v3:
  - Add Reviewed-by,

v2:
  - New.
---
 .../bindings/net/ethernet-controller.yaml          | 14 ++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+)

diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/ethernet-controller.yaml b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/ethernet-controller.yaml
index 1c4474036d46a9dc..e9bb386066540676 100644
--- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/ethernet-controller.yaml
+++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/ethernet-controller.yaml
@@ -119,6 +119,13 @@ properties:
       and is useful for determining certain configuration settings
       such as flow control thresholds.
 
+  rx-internal-delay-ps:
+    $ref: /schemas/types.yaml#/definitions/uint32
+    description: |
+      RGMII Receive Clock Delay defined in pico seconds.
+      This is used for controllers that have configurable RX internal delays.
+      If this property is present then the MAC applies the RX delay.
+
   sfp:
     $ref: /schemas/types.yaml#definitions/phandle
     description:
@@ -130,6 +137,13 @@ properties:
       The size of the controller\'s transmit fifo in bytes. This
       is used for components that can have configurable fifo sizes.
 
+  tx-internal-delay-ps:
+    $ref: /schemas/types.yaml#/definitions/uint32
+    description: |
+      RGMII Transmit Clock Delay defined in pico seconds.
+      This is used for controllers that have configurable TX internal delays.
+      If this property is present then the MAC applies the TX delay.
+
   managed:
     description:
       Specifies the PHY management type. If auto is set and fixed-link
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists