lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 19 Aug 2020 14:36:52 -0700
From:   John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>
To:     Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@...nel.org>
Cc:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        linuxarm@...wei.com, mauro.chehab@...wei.com,
        Manivannan Sadhasivam <mani@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
        dri-devel <dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org>,
        Bogdan Togorean <bogdan.togorean@...log.com>,
        Liwei Cai <cailiwei@...ilicon.com>,
        linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Xinliang Liu <xinliang.liu@...aro.org>,
        Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@...libre.com>,
        Wanchun Zheng <zhengwanchun@...ilicon.com>,
        driverdevel <devel@...verdev.osuosl.org>,
        BPF Mailing List <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        Xiubin Zhang <zhangxiubin1@...wei.com>,
        linux-media <linux-media@...r.kernel.org>,
        Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@...com>,
        Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@...nel.org>,
        Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@...asonboard.com>,
        Xinwei Kong <kong.kongxinwei@...ilicon.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        "open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS" 
        <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>, Rob Clark <robdclark@...omium.org>,
        Laurentiu Palcu <laurentiu.palcu@....com>,
        Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@...sung.com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        Liuyao An <anliuyao@...wei.com>,
        "moderated list:DMA BUFFER SHARING FRAMEWORK" 
        <linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org>, Wei Xu <xuwei5@...ilicon.com>,
        Rongrong Zou <zourongrong@...il.com>,
        Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>,
        Sam Ravnborg <sam@...nborg.org>,
        Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
        lkml <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        Chen Feng <puck.chen@...ilicon.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/49] DRM driver for Hikey 970

On Wed, Aug 19, 2020 at 4:46 AM Mauro Carvalho Chehab
<mchehab+huawei@...nel.org> wrote:
> So, IMO, the best is to keep it on staging for a while, until those
> remaining bugs gets solved.
>
> I added this series, together with the regulator driver and
> a few other patches (including a hack to fix a Kernel 5.8
> regression at WiFi ) at:
>
>         https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/mchehab_kernel/hikey-970/-/commits/master

Sorry, one more small request: Could you create a branch that only has
the DRM driver changes in it?

The reason I ask, is that since the HiKey960 isn't affected by the
majority of the problems you listed as motivation for going through
staging. So if we can validate that your tree works fine on HiKey960,
the series can be cleaned up and submitted properly upstream to enable
that SoC, and the outstanding 970 issues can be worked out afterwards
against mainline.

thanks
-john

Powered by blists - more mailing lists