lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 29 Aug 2020 23:23:39 +0300
From:   Denis Efremov <efremov@...ux.com>
To:     Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        "Gustavo A . R . Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>,
        Julia Lawall <julia.lawall@...ia.fr>,
        Alex Dewar <alex.dewar90@...il.com>
Cc:     York Sun <york.sun@....com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        James Morse <james.morse@....com>,
        Robert Richter <rric@...nel.org>,
        Michal Simek <michal.simek@...inx.com>,
        Boris Brezillon <bbrezillon@...nel.org>,
        Maxim Levitsky <maximlevitsky@...il.com>,
        Alex Dubov <oakad@...oo.com>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Tomas Winkler <tomas.winkler@...el.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Douglas Miller <dougmill@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Stanislav Yakovlev <stas.yakovlev@...il.com>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>,
        Darren Hart <dvhart@...radead.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>,
        Kai Mäkisara <Kai.Makisara@...umbus.fi>,
        "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...ux.ibm.com>,
        "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Oliver Neukum <oneukum@...e.com>,
        Pete Zaitcev <zaitcev@...hat.com>, linux-edac@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-i3c@...ts.infradead.org, linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org, linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-spi@...r.kernel.org, linux-usb@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: sysfs output without newlines

Hi,

On 8/29/20 9:23 PM, Joe Perches wrote:
> While doing an investigation for a possible treewide conversion of
> sysfs output using sprintf/snprintf/scnprintf, I discovered
> several instances of sysfs output without terminating newlines.
> 
> It seems likely all of these should have newline terminations
> or have the \n\r termination changed to a single newline.

I think that it could break badly written scripts in rare cases.

> 
> Anyone have any objection to patches adding newlines to these
> in their original forms using sprintf/snprintf/scnprintf?

I'm not sure about existing cases, but I think it's a good
checkpatch.pl warning for new patches. It should be 
possible to check sysfs_emit() calls.

Thanks,
Denis

Powered by blists - more mailing lists