lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 9 Oct 2020 07:50:56 +0530
From:   Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
To:     Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>, davem@...emloft.net
Cc:     Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Grant Likely <grant.likely@....com>,
        Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Florin Laurentiu Chiculita <florinlaurentiu.chiculita@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Diana Madalina Craciun <diana.craciun@....com>,
        netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@....com>,
        linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:ACPI FOR ARM64 (ACPI/arm64)" <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux.cj@...il.com, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@...nel.org>,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [net-next PATCH v1] net: phy: Move of_mdio from drivers/of to
 drivers/net/mdio

Hi Rob,

On Thu, Oct 08, 2020 at 11:35:07AM -0500, Rob Herring wrote:
> On Thu, Oct 8, 2020 at 9:47 AM Calvin Johnson
> <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com> wrote:
> >
> > Better place for of_mdio.c is drivers/net/mdio.
> > Move of_mdio.c from drivers/of to drivers/net/mdio
> 
> One thing off my todo list. I'd started this ages ago[1].
> 
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
> > ---
> >
> >  MAINTAINERS                        | 2 +-
> >  drivers/net/mdio/Kconfig           | 8 ++++++++
> >  drivers/net/mdio/Makefile          | 2 ++
> >  drivers/{of => net/mdio}/of_mdio.c | 0
> >  drivers/of/Kconfig                 | 7 -------
> >  drivers/of/Makefile                | 1 -
> >  6 files changed, 11 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)
> >  rename drivers/{of => net/mdio}/of_mdio.c (100%)
> 
> of_mdio.c is really a combination of mdio and phylib functions, so it
> should be split up IMO. With that, I think you can get rid of
> CONFIG_OF_MDIO. See my branch[1] for what I had in mind. But that can
> be done after this if the net maintainers prefer.
> 
> Acked-by: Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>
> 
> Rob
> 
> [1] git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/robh/linux.git dt/move-net

Makes sense to me to split of_mdio.c. I can work on it once my current task
completes.

Regards
Calvin

Powered by blists - more mailing lists