lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 03 Dec 2020 22:35:17 +0100
From:   Toke Høiland-Jørgensen <toke@...hat.com>
To:     Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Cc:     "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...omium.org>,
        Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@...nel.org>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Romain Perier <romain.perier@...il.com>,
        Allen Pais <apais@...ux.microsoft.com>,
        Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@...com>,
        Simon Horman <simon.horman@...ronome.com>,
        "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>,
        Lorenzo Bianconi <lorenzo@...nel.org>,
        Wei Yongjun <weiyongjun1@...wei.com>,
        Jiri Benc <jbenc@...hat.com>, oss-drivers@...ronome.com,
        linux-omap@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        bpf@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH bpf 0/7] selftests/bpf: Restore test_offload.py to working
 order

This series restores the test_offload.py selftest to working order. It seems a
number of subtle behavioural changes have crept into various subsystems which
broke test_offload.py in a number of ways. Most of these are fairly benign
changes where small adjustments to the test script seems to be the best fix, but
one is an actual kernel bug that I've observed in the wild caused by a bad
interaction between xdp_attachment_flags_ok() and the rework of XDP program
handling in the core netdev code.

Patch 1 fixes the bug by removing xdp_attachment_flags_ok(), and the reminder of
the patches are adjustments to test_offload.py, including a new feature for
netdevsim to force a BPF verification fail. Please see the individual patches
for details.

---

Toke Høiland-Jørgensen (7):
      xdp: remove the xdp_attachment_flags_ok() callback
      selftests/bpf/test_offload.py: Remove check for program load flags match
      netdevsim: Add debugfs toggle to reject BPF programs in verifier
      selftests/bpf/test_offload.py: only check verifier log on verification fails
      selftests/bpf/test_offload.py: fix expected case of extack messages
      selftests/bpf/test_offload.py: reset ethtool features after failed setting
      selftests/bpf/test_offload.py: filter bpftool internal map when counting maps


 .../ethernet/netronome/nfp/nfp_net_common.c   |  6 ---
 drivers/net/ethernet/ti/cpsw_priv.c           |  3 --
 drivers/net/netdevsim/bpf.c                   | 15 ++++--
 drivers/net/netdevsim/netdevsim.h             |  1 +
 include/net/xdp.h                             |  2 -
 net/core/xdp.c                                | 12 -----
 tools/testing/selftests/bpf/test_offload.py   | 49 +++++++++----------
 7 files changed, 35 insertions(+), 53 deletions(-)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists