lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon,  7 Dec 2020 01:59:10 +0200
From:   Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>
To:     "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Cc:     netdev@...r.kernel.org, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
        Pablo Neira Ayuso <pablo@...filter.org>,
        Jiri Benc <jbenc@...hat.com>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Jamal Hadi Salim <jhs@...atatu.com>,
        Stephen Hemminger <stephen@...workplumber.org>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        George McCollister <george.mccollister@...il.com>,
        Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@...gutronix.de>,
        Heiko Carstens <hca@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Vasily Gorbik <gor@...ux.ibm.com>, linux-s390@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [RFC PATCH net-next 04/13] s390/appldata_net_sum: hold the netdev lists lock when retrieving device statistics

In the effort of making .ndo_get_stats64 be able to sleep, we need to
ensure the callers of dev_get_stats do not use atomic context.

In the case of the appldata driver, an RCU read-side critical section is
used to ensure the integrity of the list of network interfaces, because
the driver iterates through all net devices in the netns to aggregate
statistics. We still need some protection against an interface
registering or deregistering, and the writer-side lock, the netns's
mutex, is fine for that, because it offers sleepable context.

The ops->callback function is called from under appldata_ops_mutex
protection, so this is proof that the context is sleepable and holding
a mutex is therefore fine.

Cc: Heiko Carstens <hca@...ux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@...ux.ibm.com>
Cc: linux-s390@...r.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>
---
 arch/s390/appldata/appldata_net_sum.c | 8 +++++---
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/s390/appldata/appldata_net_sum.c b/arch/s390/appldata/appldata_net_sum.c
index 59c282ca002f..27e9cc998d4d 100644
--- a/arch/s390/appldata/appldata_net_sum.c
+++ b/arch/s390/appldata/appldata_net_sum.c
@@ -78,8 +78,9 @@ static void appldata_get_net_sum_data(void *data)
 	tx_dropped = 0;
 	collisions = 0;
 
-	rcu_read_lock();
-	for_each_netdev_rcu(&init_net, dev) {
+	mutex_lock(&init_net.netdev_lists_lock);
+
+	for_each_netdev(&init_net, dev) {
 		const struct rtnl_link_stats64 *stats;
 		struct rtnl_link_stats64 temp;
 
@@ -95,7 +96,8 @@ static void appldata_get_net_sum_data(void *data)
 		collisions += stats->collisions;
 		i++;
 	}
-	rcu_read_unlock();
+
+	mutex_unlock(&init_net.netdev_lists_unlock);
 
 	net_data->nr_interfaces = i;
 	net_data->rx_packets = rx_packets;
-- 
2.25.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists