lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 9 Dec 2020 12:37:29 -0500
From:   Willem de Bruijn <willemdebruijn.kernel@...il.com>
To:     "Geva, Erez" <erez.geva.ext@...mens.com>
Cc:     Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-kernel <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-arch@...r.kernel.org" <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>,
        Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@....inr.ac.ru>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Hideaki YOSHIFUJI <yoshfuji@...ux-ipv6.org>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Jamal Hadi Salim <jhs@...atatu.com>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...nulli.us>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Eyal Birger <eyal.birger@...il.com>,
        "Gustavo A . R . Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>,
        Jakub Sitnicki <jakub@...udflare.com>,
        John Ogness <john.ogness@...utronix.de>,
        Jon Rosen <jrosen@...co.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Marc Kleine-Budde <mkl@...gutronix.de>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Matthieu Baerts <matthieu.baerts@...sares.net>,
        Andrei Vagin <avagin@...il.com>,
        Dmitry Safonov <0x7f454c46@...il.com>,
        "Eric W . Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>,
        Miaohe Lin <linmiaohe@...wei.com>,
        Michal Kubecek <mkubecek@...e.cz>,
        Or Cohen <orcohen@...oaltonetworks.com>,
        Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>,
        Stefan Schmidt <stefan@...enfreihafen.org>,
        Xie He <xie.he.0141@...il.com>,
        Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Vladis Dronov <vdronov@...hat.com>,
        Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Vinicius Costa Gomes <vinicius.gomes@...el.com>,
        Vedang Patel <vedang.patel@...el.com>,
        "Molzahn, Ines" <ines.molzahn@...mens.com>,
        "Sudler, Simon" <simon.sudler@...mens.com>,
        "Meisinger, Andreas" <andreas.meisinger@...mens.com>,
        "Bucher, Andreas" <andreas.bucher@...mens.com>,
        "henning.schild@...mens.com" <henning.schild@...mens.com>,
        "jan.kiszka@...mens.com" <jan.kiszka@...mens.com>,
        "Zirkler, Andreas" <andreas.zirkler@...mens.com>,
        "Sakic, Ermin" <ermin.sakic@...mens.com>,
        "anninh.nguyen@...mens.com" <anninh.nguyen@...mens.com>,
        "Saenger, Michael" <michael.saenger@...mens.com>,
        "Maehringer, Bernd" <bernd.maehringer@...mens.com>,
        "gisela.greinert@...mens.com" <gisela.greinert@...mens.com>,
        Erez Geva <ErezGeva2@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3] Add TX sending hardware timestamp.

On Wed, Dec 9, 2020 at 10:25 AM Geva, Erez <erez.geva.ext@...mens.com> wrote:
>
>
> On 09/12/2020 15:48, Willem de Bruijn wrote:
> > On Wed, Dec 9, 2020 at 9:37 AM Erez Geva <erez.geva.ext@...mens.com> wrote:
> >>
> >> Configure and send TX sending hardware timestamp from
> >>   user space application to the socket layer,
> >>   to provide to the TC ETC Qdisc, and pass it to
> >>   the interface network driver.
> >>
> >>   - New flag for the SO_TXTIME socket option.
> >>   - New access auxiliary data header to pass the
> >>     TX sending hardware timestamp.
> >>   - Add the hardware timestamp to the socket cookie.
> >>   - Copy the TX sending hardware timestamp to the socket cookie.
> >>
> >> Signed-off-by: Erez Geva <erez.geva.ext@...mens.com>
> >
> > Hardware offload of pacing is definitely useful.
> >
> Thanks for your comment.
> I agree, it is not limited of use.
>
> > I don't think this needs a new separate h/w variant of SO_TXTIME.
> >
> I only extend SO_TXTIME.

The patchset passes a separate timestamp from skb->tstamp along
through the ip cookie, cork (transmit_hw_time) and with the skb in
shinfo.

I don't see the need for two timestamps, one tied to software and one
to hardware. When would we want to pace twice?

> > Indeed, we want pacing offload to work for existing applications.
> >
> As the conversion of the PHC and the system clock is dynamic over time.
> How do you propse to achive it?

Can you elaborate on this concern?

The simplest solution for offloading pacing would be to interpret
skb->tstamp either for software pacing, or skip software pacing if the
device advertises a NETIF_F hardware pacing feature.

Clockbase is an issue. The device driver may have to convert to
whatever format the device expects when copying skb->tstamp in the
device tx descriptor.

>
> > It only requires that pacing qdiscs, both sch_etf and sch_fq,
> > optionally skip queuing in their .enqueue callback and instead allow
> > the skb to pass to the device driver as is, with skb->tstamp set. Only
> > to devices that advertise support for h/w pacing offload.
> >
> I did not use "Fair Queue traffic policing".
> As for ETF, it is all about ordering packets from different applications.
> How can we achive it with skiping queuing?
> Could you elaborate on this point?

The qdisc can only defer pacing to hardware if hardware can ensure the
same invariants on ordering, of course.

Btw: this is quite a long list of CC:s

Powered by blists - more mailing lists