lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 13 Dec 2020 13:24:00 +0200
From:   Tariq Toukan <ttoukan.linux@...il.com>
To:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org>,
        Tariq Toukan <tariqt@...dia.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-rdma@...r.kernel.org,
        "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@...senPartnership.com>,
        Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
        afzal mohammed <afzal.mohd.ma@...il.com>,
        linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
        Heiko Carstens <hca@...ux.ibm.com>, linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
        Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@...ux.intel.com>,
        Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@...el.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
        Pankaj Bharadiya <pankaj.laxminarayan.bharadiya@...el.com>,
        Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk>,
        Wambui Karuga <wambui.karugax@...il.com>,
        intel-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org, Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>,
        Jon Mason <jdmason@...zu.us>,
        Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@...el.com>,
        Allen Hubbe <allenbh@...il.com>, linux-ntb@...glegroups.com,
        Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@....com>,
        Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
        Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>,
        Michal Simek <michal.simek@...inx.com>,
        linux-pci@...r.kernel.org,
        Karthikeyan Mitran <m.karthikeyan@...iveil.co.in>,
        Hou Zhiqiang <Zhiqiang.Hou@....com>,
        Saeed Mahameed <saeedm@...dia.com>,
        Leon Romanovsky <leon@...nel.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@...nel.org>,
        xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org
Subject: Re: [patch 20/30] net/mlx4: Replace irq_to_desc() abuse



On 12/10/2020 9:25 PM, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> No driver has any business with the internals of an interrupt
> descriptor. Storing a pointer to it just to use yet another helper at the
> actual usage site to retrieve the affinity mask is creative at best. Just
> because C does not allow encapsulation does not mean that the kernel has no
> limits.
> 
> Retrieve a pointer to the affinity mask itself and use that. It's still
> using an interface which is usually not for random drivers, but definitely
> less hideous than the previous hack.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
> Cc: Tariq Toukan <tariqt@...dia.com>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
> Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
> Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-rdma@...r.kernel.org
> ---
>   drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx4/en_cq.c   |    8 +++-----
>   drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx4/en_rx.c   |    6 +-----
>   drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx4/mlx4_en.h |    3 ++-
>   3 files changed, 6 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)
> 

Reviewed-by: Tariq Toukan <tariqt@...dia.com>

Thanks for your patch.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists