lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 28 Dec 2020 10:59:28 +0100
From:   Jiri Pirko <jiri@...nulli.us>
To:     Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>
Cc:     "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>,
        Kurt Kanzenbach <kurt@...utronix.de>,
        Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@...ke-m.de>,
        Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@...rochip.com>,
        Microchip Linux Driver Support <UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com>,
        Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>,
        Landen Chao <Landen.Chao@...iatek.com>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        Vadym Kochan <vkochan@...vell.com>,
        Taras Chornyi <tchornyi@...vell.com>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...dia.com>, Ido Schimmel <idosch@...dia.com>,
        Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@...com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Ivan Vecera <ivecera@...hat.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH net-next 0/9] Get rid of the switchdev transactional
 model

Thu, Dec 17, 2020 at 02:58:13AM CET, vladimir.oltean@....com wrote:
>This series comes after the late realization that the prepare/commit
>separation imposed by switchdev does not help literally anybody:
>https://patchwork.kernel.org/project/netdevbpf/patch/20201212203901.351331-1-vladimir.oltean@nxp.com/
>
>We should kill it before it inflicts even more damage to the error
>handling logic in drivers.

Awesome, I totally like this patchset. To be honest, I didn't see much
or a point to do the transaction model from the start, yet I remember
there were people requiring it. I guess they are fine now without
it or they don't care anymore.

Acked-by: Jiri Pirko <jiri@...dia.com>

Powered by blists - more mailing lists