lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 17 Jan 2021 15:28:29 +0100
From:   Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
To:     Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Cc:     Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@...mens.com>,
        Wong Vee Khee <vee.khee.wong@...el.com>,
        Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@...com>,
        Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@...com>,
        Jose Abreu <joabreu@...opsys.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@...il.com>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-stm32@...md-mailman.stormreply.com,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Ong Boon Leong <boon.leong.ong@...el.com>,
        Voon Wei Feng <weifeng.voon@...el.com>,
        stable@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 1/1] stmmac: intel: change all EHL/TGL to auto
 detect phy addr

On Sat, Jan 16, 2021 at 04:59:14PM -0800, Jakub Kicinski wrote:
> On Sat, 16 Jan 2021 10:12:21 +0100 Jan Kiszka wrote:
> > On 06.11.20 10:43, Wong Vee Khee wrote:
> > > From: Voon Weifeng <weifeng.voon@...el.com>
> > > 
> > > Set all EHL/TGL phy_addr to -1 so that the driver will automatically
> > > detect it at run-time by probing all the possible 32 addresses.
> > > 
> > > Signed-off-by: Voon Weifeng <weifeng.voon@...el.com>
> > > Signed-off-by: Wong Vee Khee <vee.khee.wong@...el.com>
> > 
> > This fixes PHY detection on one of our EHL-based boards. Can this also
> > be applied to stable 5.10?
> 
> Sure.
> 
> Greg, we'd like to request a backport of the following commit to 5.10.
> 
> commit bff6f1db91e330d7fba56f815cdbc412c75fe163
> Author: Voon Weifeng <weifeng.voon@...el.com>
> Date:   Fri Nov 6 17:43:41 2020 +0800
> 
>     stmmac: intel: change all EHL/TGL to auto detect phy addr
>     
>     Set all EHL/TGL phy_addr to -1 so that the driver will automatically
>     detect it at run-time by probing all the possible 32 addresses.
>     
>     Signed-off-by: Voon Weifeng <weifeng.voon@...el.com>
>     Signed-off-by: Wong Vee Khee <vee.khee.wong@...el.com>
>     Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20201106094341.4241-1-vee.khee.wong@intel.com
>     Signed-off-by: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
> 
> 
> It's relatively small, and Jan reports it makes his boards detect the
> PHY. The change went in via -next and into Linus's tree during the 5.11
> merge window.

Now queued up, thanks.

greg k-h

Powered by blists - more mailing lists