lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 20 Jul 2021 20:42:50 +0200
From:   Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>
To:     Alexei Starovoitov <alexei.starovoitov@...il.com>
Cc:     Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>,
        bpf <bpf@...r.kernel.org>, Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Kernel Team <kernel-team@...com>,
        Neal Cardwell <ncardwell@...gle.com>,
        Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>, Yuchung Cheng <ycheng@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 bpf-next 0/8] bpf: Allow bpf tcp iter to do bpf_(get|set)sockopt

Hi there.

I was indeed on vacation, but I am back, and done with my netdev presentation :)

I will take a look, thanks !

On Tue, Jul 20, 2021 at 8:05 PM Alexei Starovoitov
<alexei.starovoitov@...il.com> wrote:
>
> On Wed, Jul 14, 2021 at 6:29 PM Alexei Starovoitov
> <alexei.starovoitov@...il.com> wrote:
> >
> > On Thu, Jul 1, 2021 at 1:05 PM Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com> wrote:
> > >
> > > This set is to allow bpf tcp iter to call bpf_(get|set)sockopt.
> > >
> > > With bpf-tcp-cc, new algo rollout happens more often.  Instead of
> > > restarting the applications to pick up the new tcp-cc, this set
> > > allows the bpf tcp iter to call bpf_(get|set)sockopt(TCP_CONGESTION).
> > > It is not limited to TCP_CONGESTION, the bpf tcp iter can call
> > > bpf_(get|set)sockopt() with other options.  The bpf tcp iter can read
> > > into all the fields of a tcp_sock, so there is a lot of flexibility
> > > to select the desired sk to do setsockopt(), e.g. it can test for
> > > TCP_LISTEN only and leave the established connections untouched,
> > > or check the addr/port, or check the current tcp-cc name, ...etc.
> > >
> > > Patch 1-4 are some cleanup and prep work in the tcp and bpf seq_file.
> > >
> > > Patch 5 is to have the tcp seq_file iterate on the
> > > port+addr lhash2 instead of the port only listening_hash.
> > ...
> > >  include/linux/bpf.h                           |   8 +
> > >  include/net/inet_hashtables.h                 |   6 +
> > >  include/net/tcp.h                             |   1 -
> > >  kernel/bpf/bpf_iter.c                         |  22 +
> > >  kernel/trace/bpf_trace.c                      |   7 +-
> > >  net/core/filter.c                             |  34 ++
> > >  net/ipv4/tcp_ipv4.c                           | 410 ++++++++++++++----
> >
> > Eric,
> >
> > Could you please review this set where it touches inet bits?
> > I've looked a few times and it all looks fine to me, but I'm no expert
> > in those parts.
>
> Eric,
>
> ping!
> If you're on vacation or something I'm inclined to land the patches
> and let Martin address your review feedback in follow up patches.
>
> Thanks

Powered by blists - more mailing lists