lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue,  3 Aug 2021 18:36:21 +0200
From:   Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>
To:     "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Cc:     Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Lukasz Czapnik <lukasz.czapnik@...el.com>,
        Marcin Kubiak <marcin.kubiak@...el.com>,
        Michal Kubiak <michal.kubiak@...el.com>,
        Michal Swiatkowski <michal.swiatkowski@...el.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Netanel Belgazal <netanel@...zon.com>,
        Arthur Kiyanovski <akiyano@...zon.com>,
        Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@...zon.com>,
        Saeed Bishara <saeedb@...zon.com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
        Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Edward Cree <ecree.xilinx@...il.com>,
        Martin Habets <habetsm.xilinx@...il.com>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Jason Wang <jasowang@...hat.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@...nel.org>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@...nel.org>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...nel.org>,
        Shay Agroskin <shayagr@...zon.com>,
        Sameeh Jubran <sameehj@...zon.com>,
        Alexander Duyck <alexanderduyck@...com>,
        Danielle Ratson <danieller@...dia.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...dia.com>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Vladyslav Tarasiuk <vladyslavt@...dia.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Jian Shen <shenjian15@...wei.com>,
        Petr Vorel <petr.vorel@...il.com>, Dan Murphy <dmurphy@...com>,
        Yangbo Lu <yangbo.lu@....com>,
        Michal Kubecek <mkubecek@...e.cz>,
        Zheng Yongjun <zhengyongjun3@...wei.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        YueHaibing <yuehaibing@...wei.com>,
        Johannes Berg <johannes@...solutions.net>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org, bpf@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH net-next 01/21] ethtool, stats: use a shorthand pointer in stats_prepare_data()

Just place dev->ethtool_ops on the stack and use it instead of
dereferencing the former a bunch of times to improve code
readability.

Signed-off-by: Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>
Reviewed-by: Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>
---
 net/ethtool/stats.c | 20 +++++++++++---------
 1 file changed, 11 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

diff --git a/net/ethtool/stats.c b/net/ethtool/stats.c
index ec07f5765e03..e35c87206b4c 100644
--- a/net/ethtool/stats.c
+++ b/net/ethtool/stats.c
@@ -108,12 +108,15 @@ static int stats_prepare_data(const struct ethnl_req_info *req_base,
 	const struct stats_req_info *req_info = STATS_REQINFO(req_base);
 	struct stats_reply_data *data = STATS_REPDATA(reply_base);
 	struct net_device *dev = reply_base->dev;
+	const struct ethtool_ops *ops;
 	int ret;
 
 	ret = ethnl_ops_begin(dev);
 	if (ret < 0)
 		return ret;
 
+	ops = dev->ethtool_ops;
+
 	/* Mark all stats as unset (see ETHTOOL_STAT_NOT_SET) to prevent them
 	 * from being reported to user space in case driver did not set them.
 	 */
@@ -123,18 +126,17 @@ static int stats_prepare_data(const struct ethnl_req_info *req_base,
 	memset(&data->rmon_stats, 0xff, sizeof(data->rmon_stats));
 
 	if (test_bit(ETHTOOL_STATS_ETH_PHY, req_info->stat_mask) &&
-	    dev->ethtool_ops->get_eth_phy_stats)
-		dev->ethtool_ops->get_eth_phy_stats(dev, &data->phy_stats);
+	    ops->get_eth_phy_stats)
+		ops->get_eth_phy_stats(dev, &data->phy_stats);
 	if (test_bit(ETHTOOL_STATS_ETH_MAC, req_info->stat_mask) &&
-	    dev->ethtool_ops->get_eth_mac_stats)
-		dev->ethtool_ops->get_eth_mac_stats(dev, &data->mac_stats);
+	    ops->get_eth_mac_stats)
+		ops->get_eth_mac_stats(dev, &data->mac_stats);
 	if (test_bit(ETHTOOL_STATS_ETH_CTRL, req_info->stat_mask) &&
-	    dev->ethtool_ops->get_eth_ctrl_stats)
-		dev->ethtool_ops->get_eth_ctrl_stats(dev, &data->ctrl_stats);
+	    ops->get_eth_ctrl_stats)
+		ops->get_eth_ctrl_stats(dev, &data->ctrl_stats);
 	if (test_bit(ETHTOOL_STATS_RMON, req_info->stat_mask) &&
-	    dev->ethtool_ops->get_rmon_stats)
-		dev->ethtool_ops->get_rmon_stats(dev, &data->rmon_stats,
-						 &data->rmon_ranges);
+	    ops->get_rmon_stats)
+		ops->get_rmon_stats(dev, &data->rmon_stats, &data->rmon_ranges);
 
 	ethnl_ops_complete(dev);
 	return 0;
-- 
2.31.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists