lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 11 Aug 2021 16:50:39 +0200
From:   Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>
To:     Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...nel.org>
Cc:     netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        "Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@...am.me.uk>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>, Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>,
        Christophe JAILLET <christophe.jaillet@...adoo.fr>,
        Doug Berger <opendmb@...il.com>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Finn Thain <fthain@...egraphics.com.au>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, Jessica Yu <jeyu@...nel.org>,
        Michael Schmitz <schmitzmic@...il.com>,
        Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
        Sam Creasey <sammy@...my.net>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        bcm-kernel-feedback-list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 10/14] [net-next] make legacy ISA probe optional

Hi Arnd,

On Tue, Aug 3, 2021 at 1:41 PM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...nel.org> wrote:
> From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
>
> There are very few ISA drivers left that rely on the static probing from
> drivers/net/Space.o. Make them all select a new CONFIG_NETDEV_LEGACY_INIT
> symbol, and drop the entire probe logic when that is disabled.
>
> The 9 drivers that are called from Space.c are the same set that
> calls netdev_boot_setup_check().
>
> Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>

> --- a/drivers/net/ethernet/8390/ne.c
> +++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/8390/ne.c
> @@ -951,6 +951,7 @@ static int __init ne_init(void)
>  }
>  module_init(ne_init);
>
> +#ifdef CONFIG_NETDEV_LEGACY_INIT
>  struct net_device * __init ne_probe(int unit)
>  {
>         int this_dev;
> @@ -991,6 +992,7 @@ struct net_device * __init ne_probe(int unit)
>
>         return ERR_PTR(-ENODEV);
>  }
> +#endif
>  #endif /* MODULE */

My rbtx4927 build log says:

drivers/net/ethernet/8390/ne.c:909:20: warning: ‘ne_add_devices’
defined but not used [-Wunused-function]

The network still works fine (nfsroot).

CONFIG_MACH_TX49XX=y
CONFIG_NE2000=y
CONFIG_NETDEV_LEGACY_INIT is not set

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

-- 
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@...ux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

Powered by blists - more mailing lists