lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 15 Apr 2022 19:08:39 +0530
From:   Kumar Kartikeya Dwivedi <memxor@...il.com>
To:     Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me>
Cc:     Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@...nel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...nel.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@...nel.org>,
        Björn Töpel <bjorn@...nel.org>,
        Magnus Karlsson <magnus.karlsson@...el.com>,
        Jonathan Lemon <jonathan.lemon@...il.com>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Dmitrii Dolgov <9erthalion6@...il.com>,
        Quentin Monnet <quentin@...valent.com>,
        Tiezhu Yang <yangtiezhu@...ngson.cn>,
        Chenbo Feng <fengc@...gle.com>,
        Willem de Bruijn <willemb@...gle.com>,
        Daniel Wagner <daniel.wagner@...-carit.de>,
        Thomas Graf <tgraf@...g.ch>,
        Ong Boon Leong <boon.leong.ong@...el.com>,
        linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, bpf@...r.kernel.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev
Subject: Re: [PATCH bpf-next 05/11] samples: bpf: use host bpftool to
 generate vmlinux.h, not target

On Fri, Apr 15, 2022 at 04:15:50AM IST, Alexander Lobakin wrote:
> Use the host build of bpftool (bootstrap) instead of the target one
> to generate vmlinux.h/skeletons for the BPF samples. Otherwise, when
> host != target, samples compilation fails with:
>
> /bin/sh: line 1: samples/bpf/bpftool/bpftool: failed to exec: Exec
> format error
>
> Fixes: 384b6b3bbf0d ("samples: bpf: Add vmlinux.h generation support")
> Signed-off-by: Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me>
> ---

Acked-by: Kumar Kartikeya Dwivedi <memxor@...il.com>

>  samples/bpf/Makefile | 5 +++--
>  1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/samples/bpf/Makefile b/samples/bpf/Makefile
> index 97203c0de252..02f999a8ef84 100644
> --- a/samples/bpf/Makefile
> +++ b/samples/bpf/Makefile
> @@ -291,12 +291,13 @@ $(LIBBPF): $(wildcard $(LIBBPF_SRC)/*.[ch] $(LIBBPF_SRC)/Makefile) | $(LIBBPF_OU
>
>  BPFTOOLDIR := $(TOOLS_PATH)/bpf/bpftool
>  BPFTOOL_OUTPUT := $(abspath $(BPF_SAMPLES_PATH))/bpftool
> -BPFTOOL := $(BPFTOOL_OUTPUT)/bpftool
> +BPFTOOL := $(BPFTOOL_OUTPUT)/bootstrap/bpftool
>  $(BPFTOOL): $(LIBBPF) $(wildcard $(BPFTOOLDIR)/*.[ch] $(BPFTOOLDIR)/Makefile) | $(BPFTOOL_OUTPUT)
>  	    $(MAKE) -C $(BPFTOOLDIR) srctree=$(BPF_SAMPLES_PATH)/../../ \
>  		OUTPUT=$(BPFTOOL_OUTPUT)/ \
>  		LIBBPF_OUTPUT=$(LIBBPF_OUTPUT)/ \
> -		LIBBPF_DESTDIR=$(LIBBPF_DESTDIR)/
> +		LIBBPF_DESTDIR=$(LIBBPF_DESTDIR)/ \
> +		bootstrap
>
>  $(LIBBPF_OUTPUT) $(BPFTOOL_OUTPUT):
>  	$(call msg,MKDIR,$@)
> --
> 2.35.2
>
>

--
Kartikeya

Powered by blists - more mailing lists