lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 19 Apr 2022 14:57:38 +0200
From:   Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
To:     Clément Léger <clement.leger@...tlin.com>
Cc:     Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk+dt@...nel.org>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>,
        Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@...il.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
        Herve Codina <herve.codina@...tlin.com>,
        Miquèl Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>,
        Milan Stevanovic <milan.stevanovic@...com>,
        Jimmy Lalande <jimmy.lalande@...com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 09/12] ARM: dts: r9a06g032: describe MII
 converter

> Hum, that could be done but since only some values/combinations are
> allowed, it would potentially require to validate the setting at each
> request, leading to potential non working devices due to invalid MUX
> configuration required.

Yes, validation is messy, you have to incrementally validate as each
device probes and requests its PCS. I would not only return -EINVAL,
but also dump the current partial configuration to the kernel log. I
guess the implementation would have a big table as shown in the
datasheet. You walk the table trying to find a match for those
settings you have so far, and wildcard those you don't know yet. Fun
little coding problem.

	 Andrew

Powered by blists - more mailing lists