lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 19 Apr 2022 11:03:55 +0200
From:   Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
To:     Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me>
Cc:     Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@...nel.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...nel.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@...nel.org>,
        Björn Töpel <bjorn@...nel.org>,
        Magnus Karlsson <magnus.karlsson@...el.com>,
        Jonathan Lemon <jonathan.lemon@...il.com>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Dmitrii Dolgov <9erthalion6@...il.com>,
        Quentin Monnet <quentin@...valent.com>,
        Tiezhu Yang <yangtiezhu@...ngson.cn>,
        Kumar Kartikeya Dwivedi <memxor@...il.com>,
        Chenbo Feng <fengc@...gle.com>,
        Willem de Bruijn <willemb@...gle.com>,
        Daniel Wagner <daniel.wagner@...-carit.de>,
        Thomas Graf <tgraf@...g.ch>,
        Ong Boon Leong <boon.leong.ong@...el.com>,
        linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, bpf@...r.kernel.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev
Subject: Re: [PATCH bpf-next 01/11] bpf, perf: fix bpftool compilation with
 !CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS

On Thu, Apr 14, 2022 at 10:44:48PM +0000, Alexander Lobakin wrote:
> When CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS is not set, struct perf_event remains empty.
> However, the structure is being used by bpftool indirectly via BTF.
> This leads to:
> 
> skeleton/pid_iter.bpf.c:49:30: error: no member named 'bpf_cookie' in 'struct perf_event'
>         return BPF_CORE_READ(event, bpf_cookie);
>                ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~^~~~~~~~~~~
> 
> ...
> 
> skeleton/pid_iter.bpf.c:49:9: error: returning 'void' from a function with incompatible result type '__u64' (aka 'unsigned long long')
>         return BPF_CORE_READ(event, bpf_cookie);
>                ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
> 
> Tools and samples can't use any CONFIG_ definitions, so the fields
> used there should always be present.
> Move CONFIG_BPF_SYSCALL block out of the CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS block
> to make it available unconditionally.

Urgh, this is nasty.. did you verify nothing relies on that structure
actually being empty?

Also, why are we changing kernel headers to fix some daft userspace
issue?

> Fixes: cbdaf71f7e65 ("bpftool: Add bpf_cookie to link output")
> Signed-off-by: Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me>
> ---
>  include/linux/perf_event.h | 2 ++
>  1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/include/linux/perf_event.h b/include/linux/perf_event.h
> index af97dd427501..b1d5715b8b34 100644
> --- a/include/linux/perf_event.h
> +++ b/include/linux/perf_event.h
> @@ -762,12 +762,14 @@ struct perf_event {
>  	u64				(*clock)(void);
>  	perf_overflow_handler_t		overflow_handler;
>  	void				*overflow_handler_context;
> +#endif /* CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS */
>  #ifdef CONFIG_BPF_SYSCALL
>  	perf_overflow_handler_t		orig_overflow_handler;
>  	struct bpf_prog			*prog;
>  	u64				bpf_cookie;
>  #endif
> 
> +#ifdef CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS
>  #ifdef CONFIG_EVENT_TRACING
>  	struct trace_event_call		*tp_event;
>  	struct event_filter		*filter;
> --
> 2.35.2
> 
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists