lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 20 Apr 2022 10:12:01 -0700
From:   Andrii Nakryiko <andrii.nakryiko@...il.com>
To:     Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me>
Cc:     Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@...nel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...nel.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@...nel.org>,
        Björn Töpel <bjorn@...nel.org>,
        Magnus Karlsson <magnus.karlsson@...el.com>,
        Jonathan Lemon <jonathan.lemon@...il.com>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Dmitrii Dolgov <9erthalion6@...il.com>,
        Quentin Monnet <quentin@...valent.com>,
        Tiezhu Yang <yangtiezhu@...ngson.cn>,
        Kumar Kartikeya Dwivedi <memxor@...il.com>,
        Chenbo Feng <fengc@...gle.com>,
        Willem de Bruijn <willemb@...gle.com>,
        Daniel Wagner <daniel.wagner@...-carit.de>,
        Thomas Graf <tgraf@...g.ch>,
        Ong Boon Leong <boon.leong.ong@...el.com>,
        "linux-perf-use." <linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org>,
        open list <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Networking <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, bpf <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        llvm@...ts.linux.dev
Subject: Re: [PATCH bpf-next 03/11] tools, bpf: fix bpftool build with !CONFIG_BPF_EVENTS

On Thu, Apr 14, 2022 at 3:45 PM Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me> wrote:
>
> Fix the following error when building bpftool:
>
>   CLANG   profiler.bpf.o
>   CLANG   pid_iter.bpf.o
> skeleton/profiler.bpf.c:18:21: error: invalid application of 'sizeof' to an incomplete type 'struct bpf_perf_event_value'
>         __uint(value_size, sizeof(struct bpf_perf_event_value));
>                            ^     ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
> tools/bpf/bpftool/bootstrap/libbpf/include/bpf/bpf_helpers.h:13:39: note: expanded from macro '__uint'
>                                       ^~~
> tools/bpf/bpftool/bootstrap/libbpf/include/bpf/bpf_helper_defs.h:7:8: note: forward declaration of 'struct bpf_perf_event_value'
> struct bpf_perf_event_value;
>        ^
>
> struct bpf_perf_event_value is being used in the kernel only when
> CONFIG_BPF_EVENTS is enabled, so it misses a BTF entry then.
> Emit the type unconditionally to fix the problem.
>
> Fixes: 47c09d6a9f67 ("bpftool: Introduce "prog profile" command")
> Signed-off-by: Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me>
> ---
>  kernel/bpf/syscall.c | 1 +
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)
>
> diff --git a/kernel/bpf/syscall.c b/kernel/bpf/syscall.c
> index 34fdf27d14cf..dd8284a60a8e 100644
> --- a/kernel/bpf/syscall.c
> +++ b/kernel/bpf/syscall.c
> @@ -4286,6 +4286,7 @@ static int link_create(union bpf_attr *attr, bpfptr_t uattr)
>                 goto out;
>         case BPF_PROG_TYPE_PERF_EVENT:
>         case BPF_PROG_TYPE_TRACEPOINT:
> +               BTF_TYPE_EMIT(struct bpf_perf_event_value);

same as for previous two patches, if there are types that bpftool
expects and might not be in vmlinux.h due to different kernel
configurations, it's cleaner to just define their minimal local
definitions with __attribute__((preserve_access_index))

>                 if (attr->link_create.attach_type != BPF_PERF_EVENT) {
>                         ret = -EINVAL;
>                         goto out;
> --
> 2.35.2
>
>

Powered by blists - more mailing lists