lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 5 Jul 2022 22:56:26 +0000
From:   Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>
To:     Colin Foster <colin.foster@...advantage.com>
CC:     Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
        "devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "netdev@...r.kernel.org" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org" <linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org>,
        Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Lars Povlsen <lars.povlsen@...rochip.com>,
        Steen Hegelund <Steen.Hegelund@...rochip.com>,
        "UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com" <UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        Wolfram Sang <wsa@...nel.org>,
        Terry Bowman <terry.bowman@....com>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>,
        "katie.morris@...advantage.com" <katie.morris@...advantage.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v12 net-next 0/9] add support for VSC7512 control over SPI

On Wed, Jul 06, 2022 at 01:04:32AM +0300, Vladimir Oltean wrote:
> You got some feedback at v11 (I believe) from Jakub about reposting too
> soon. The phrasing was relatively rude and I'm not sure that you got the
> central idea right. Large patch sets are generally less welcome when
> submitted back to back compared to small ones, but they still need to be
> posted frequent enough to not lose reviewers' attention. And small
> fixups to fix a build as module are not going to make a huge difference
> when reviewing, so it's best not to dig your own grave by gratuitously
> bumping the version number just for a compilation fix. Again, replying
> to your own patch saying "X was supposed to be Y, otherwise please go on
> reviewing", may help.

I hope I'm not coming off as a know-it-all by saying this, and I didn't
intend to make you feel bad. Ask me how do I know, and the answer will
be by making the same mistakes, of course.

Not sure if he's already on your radar, but you can watch and analyze
the patches submitted by Russell King. For example the recent patch set
for making phylink accept DSA CPU port OF nodes with no fixed-link or
phy-handle. Perfect timing in resubmitting a new series when one was
due, even when the previous one got no feedback whatsoever (which seems
to be the hardest situation to deal with). You need to be able to take
decisions even when you're doing so on your own, and much of that comes
with experience.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists