lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 6 Jul 2022 13:14:59 +0300
From:   Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>
To:     Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
Cc:     "Russell King (Oracle)" <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        Alvin Šipraga <alsi@...g-olufsen.dk>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        DENG Qingfang <dqfext@...il.com>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        George McCollister <george.mccollister@...il.com>,
        Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@...ke-m.de>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Kurt Kanzenbach <kurt@...utronix.de>,
        Landen Chao <Landen.Chao@...iatek.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>,
        UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@...rochip.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC net-next v2 0/5] net: dsa: always use phylink

Hi Florian,

On Tue, Jul 05, 2022 at 09:42:33AM -0700, Florian Fainelli wrote:
> On 7/5/22 02:46, Russell King (Oracle) wrote:
> > A new revision of the series which incorporates changes that Marek
> > suggested. Specifically, the changes are:
> > 
> > 1. Patch 2 - use the phylink_get_caps method in mv88e6xxx to get the
> >     default interface rather than re-using port_max_speed_mode()
> > 
> > 2. Patch 4 - if no default interface is provided, use the supported
> >     interface mask to search for the first interface that gives the
> >     fastest speed.
> > 
> > 3. Patch 5 - now also removes the port_max_speed_mode() method
> 
> This was tested with bcm_sf2.c and b53_srab.b and did not cause regressions,
> however we do have a 'fixed-link' property for the CPU port (always have had
> one), so there was no regression expected.

What about arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm47189-tenda-ac9.dts?
Just to make sure I'm simply not seeing something, I compiled and then
decompiled the dtb. We have:

		ethernet@...0 {
			reg = <0x5000 0x1000>;
			phandle = <0x03>;

			mdio {
				#address-cells = <0x01>;
				#size-cells = <0x00>;

				switch@1e {
					compatible = "brcm,bcm53125";
					reg = <0x1e>;
					status = "okay";

					ports {
						#address-cells = <0x01>;
						#size-cells = <0x00>;

						port@0 {
							reg = <0x00>;
							label = "wan";
						};

						port@1 {
							reg = <0x01>;
							label = "lan1";
						};

						port@2 {
							reg = <0x02>;
							label = "lan2";
						};

						port@3 {
							reg = <0x03>;
							label = "lan3";
						};

						port@4 {
							reg = <0x04>;
							label = "lan4";
						};

						port@5 {
							reg = <0x05>;
							label = "cpu";
							ethernet = <0x03>; <- CPU port with no phy-handle, no fixed-link
						};
					};
				};
			};
		};

Powered by blists - more mailing lists