lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 18 Jul 2022 20:13:19 +0100
From:   "Russell King (Oracle)" <linux@...linux.org.uk>
To:     Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>
Cc:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        Alvin __ipraga <alsi@...g-olufsen.dk>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        Daniel Scally <djrscally@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        DENG Qingfang <dqfext@...il.com>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        George McCollister <george.mccollister@...il.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@...ke-m.de>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Kurt Kanzenbach <kurt@...utronix.de>,
        Landen Chao <Landen.Chao@...iatek.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>,
        UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>,
        Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@...rochip.com>,
        Marek BehĂșn <kabel@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 5/6] net: dsa: use swnode fixed-link if using
 default params

On Mon, Jul 18, 2022 at 09:59:25PM +0300, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> On Fri, Jul 15, 2022 at 10:36:29PM +0100, Russell King (Oracle) wrote:
> > On Fri, Jul 15, 2022 at 11:11:18PM +0300, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> > > On Fri, Jul 15, 2022 at 05:01:48PM +0100, Russell King (Oracle) wrote:
> 
> ...
> 
> > > > Co-developed by Vladimir Oltean and myself.
> > > 
> > > Why not to use
> > > 
> > >   Co-developed-by: Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>
> > 
> > Ah, that's an official thing. Thanks.
> 
> Yep, it's even documented in Submitting Patches.
> 
> ...
> 
> > > > +	phy_node = of_parse_phandle(dn, "phy-handle", 0);
> > > 
> > > fwnode in the name, why not to use fwnode APIs?
> > > 
> > > 	fwnode_find_reference();
> > 
> > Marcin has a series converting DSA to use fwnode things - currently DSA
> > does not support ACPI, so converting it to fwnode doesn't make that much
> > sese until the proper ACPI patches get merged, which have now been
> > rebased on this series by Marcin in the expectation that these patches
> > would be merged... so I don't want to tred on Marcin's feet on that.
> 
> But it's normal development process...
> 
> Anyway, it seems to me that you are using fwnode out of that (with the
> exception of one call). To me it looks that you add a work to him, rather
> than making his life easier, since you know ahead that this is going to be
> converted.

No, I didn't know ahead of time until Marcin piped up about it, and
then we discussed how to resolve the conflict between the two patch
sets.

-- 
RMK's Patch system: https://www.armlinux.org.uk/developer/patches/
FTTP is here! 40Mbps down 10Mbps up. Decent connectivity at last!

Powered by blists - more mailing lists