lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 18 Jul 2022 13:46:20 -0600
From:   Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>
To:     Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@...aro.org>
Cc:     "Russell King (Oracle)" <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Sean Anderson <sean.anderson@...o.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH net-next 2/9] dt-bindings: net: Expand pcs-handle to
 an array

On Thu, Jul 14, 2022 at 12:45:54PM +0200, Krzysztof Kozlowski wrote:
> On 12/07/2022 17:59, Russell King (Oracle) wrote:
> >> However before implementing this, please wait for more feedback. Maybe
> >> Rob or net folks will have different opinions.
> > 
> > We decided on "pcs-handle" for PCS for several drivers, to be consistent
> > with the situation for network PHYs (which are "phy-handle", settled on
> > after we also had "phy" and "phy-device" and decided to deprecate these
> > two.
> > 
> > Surely we should have consistency within the net code - so either "phy"
> > and "pcs" or "phy-handle" and "pcs-handle" but not a mixture of both?
> 
> True. Then the new property should be "pcs-handle-names"?

IMO, just keep "pcs-handle" and then "pcs-handle-names". We never seem 
to get free of the deprecated versions (-gpio).

While just add/remove 's' would be nice, we have to deal with things 
like 'mboxes' and I think some other inconsistencies. 

Rob

Powered by blists - more mailing lists