lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 19 Jul 2022 00:08:36 +0300
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Yury Norov <yury.norov@...il.com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Alexey Klimov <aklimov@...hat.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@...nel.org>,
        Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>,
        Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
        Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@...hat.com>,
        Dennis Zhou <dennis@...nel.org>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@...il.com>,
        Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Isabella Basso <isabbasso@...eup.net>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...nel.org>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...nel.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>, Miroslav Benes <mbenes@...e.cz>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>,
        Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Valentin Schneider <vschneid@...hat.com>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org, bpf@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 03/16] lib/test_bitmap: don't test bitmap_set if nbits ==
 0

On Mon, Jul 18, 2022 at 12:28:31PM -0700, Yury Norov wrote:
> Don't test bitmap_set(bitmap, start, 0) as it's useless, most probably
> a sign of error in real code, and makes CONFIG_DEBUG_BITMAP barking.

No, the test of not useful and sign of an error is a good thing to test!
Test cases may be positive, may be negative. Code shouldn't fail badly because
of that.

I tend to give a NAK here.

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko


Powered by blists - more mailing lists