lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 19 Jul 2022 19:20:41 +0300
From:   Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>
To:     Sean Anderson <sean.anderson@...o.com>
Cc:     Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH net-next 4/9] net: pcs: lynx: Convert to an mdio
 driver

On Tue, Jul 19, 2022 at 12:16:17PM -0400, Sean Anderson wrote:
> > Curiously enough, mdio_device_create() only calls device_initialize().
> > It's mdio_device_register() that calls device_add(). So after this
> > patch, we cannot call lynx_pcs_create() without calling
> > mdio_device_register().
> 
> OK, so presumably we need to call mdio_device_register after mdio_device_create.
> I suppose I should have caught this because patch 5 does exactly this.

And that's only to not crash during boot, mind you. Networking is broken
at this stage. I'll proceed to patch 5 to see what happens next.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists