lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 22 Jul 2022 13:56:31 +0200
From:   Alvin Šipraga <alvin@...s.dk>
To:     Arend van Spriel <aspriel@...il.com>,
        Franky Lin <franky.lin@...adcom.com>,
        Hante Meuleman <hante.meuleman@...adcom.com>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...nel.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>
Cc:     Syed Rafiuddeen <syed.rafiuddeen@...ress.com>,
        Syed Rafiuddeen <syed.rafiuddeen@...ineon.com>,
        Chung-Hsien Hsu <chung-hsien.hsu@...ineon.com>,
        Chi-hsien Lin <chi-hsien.lin@...ineon.com>,
        Alvin Šipraga <alsi@...g-olufsen.dk>,
        linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@...adcom.com,
        SHA-cyfmac-dev-list@...ineon.com, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 6/6] brcmfmac: Update SSID of hidden AP while informing its bss to cfg80211 layer

From: Syed Rafiuddeen <syed.rafiuddeen@...ress.com>

cfg80211 layer on DUT STA is disconnecting ongoing connection attempt after
receiving association response, because cfg80211 layer does not have valid
AP bss information. On association response event, brcmfmac communicates
the AP bss information to cfg80211 layer, but SSID seem to be empty in AP
bss information, and cfg80211 layer prints kernel warning and then
disconnects the ongoing connection attempt.

SSID is empty in SSID IE, but 'bi->SSID' contains a valid SSID, so
updating the SSID for hidden AP while informing its bss information
to cfg80211 layer.

Signed-off-by: Syed Rafiuddeen <syed.rafiuddeen@...ineon.com>
Signed-off-by: Chung-Hsien Hsu <chung-hsien.hsu@...ineon.com>
Signed-off-by: Chi-hsien Lin <chi-hsien.lin@...ineon.com>
Signed-off-by: Alvin Šipraga <alsi@...g-olufsen.dk>
---
 .../net/wireless/broadcom/brcm80211/brcmfmac/cfg80211.c    | 7 +++++++
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+)

diff --git a/drivers/net/wireless/broadcom/brcm80211/brcmfmac/cfg80211.c b/drivers/net/wireless/broadcom/brcm80211/brcmfmac/cfg80211.c
index 6ef574d69755..d6127b855060 100644
--- a/drivers/net/wireless/broadcom/brcm80211/brcmfmac/cfg80211.c
+++ b/drivers/net/wireless/broadcom/brcm80211/brcmfmac/cfg80211.c
@@ -2989,6 +2989,7 @@ static s32 brcmf_inform_single_bss(struct brcmf_cfg80211_info *cfg,
 	u8 *notify_ie;
 	size_t notify_ielen;
 	struct cfg80211_inform_bss bss_data = {};
+	const struct brcmf_tlv *ssid = NULL;
 
 	if (le32_to_cpu(bi->length) > WL_BSS_INFO_MAX) {
 		bphy_err(drvr, "Bss info is larger than buffer. Discarding\n");
@@ -3018,6 +3019,12 @@ static s32 brcmf_inform_single_bss(struct brcmf_cfg80211_info *cfg,
 	notify_ielen = le32_to_cpu(bi->ie_length);
 	bss_data.signal = (s16)le16_to_cpu(bi->RSSI) * 100;
 
+	ssid = brcmf_parse_tlvs(notify_ie, notify_ielen, WLAN_EID_SSID);
+	if (ssid && ssid->data[0] == '\0' && ssid->len == bi->SSID_len) {
+		/* Update SSID for hidden AP */
+		memcpy((u8 *)ssid->data, bi->SSID, bi->SSID_len);
+	}
+
 	brcmf_dbg(CONN, "bssid: %pM\n", bi->BSSID);
 	brcmf_dbg(CONN, "Channel: %d(%d)\n", channel, freq);
 	brcmf_dbg(CONN, "Capability: %X\n", notify_capability);
-- 
2.37.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists