lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 5 Aug 2022 13:56:01 +0200
From:   Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@...gutronix.de>
To:     Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>
Cc:     Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@...rochip.com>,
        UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, kernel@...gutronix.de,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v1 07/10] net: dsa: microchip: warn about not
 supported synclko properties on KSZ9893 chips

On Tue, Aug 02, 2022 at 02:36:33PM +0300, Vladimir Oltean wrote:
> On Fri, Jul 29, 2022 at 03:03:43PM +0200, Oleksij Rempel wrote:
> > KSZ9893 family of chips do not support synclko property. So warn about
> > without preventing driver from start.
> > 
> > Signed-off-by: Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@...gutronix.de>
> > ---
> >  drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c | 7 +++++++
> >  1 file changed, 7 insertions(+)
> > 
> > diff --git a/drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c b/drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c
> > index 71b5349d006a..d3a9836c706f 100644
> > --- a/drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c
> > +++ b/drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c
> > @@ -1916,6 +1916,13 @@ int ksz_switch_register(struct ksz_device *dev)
> >  			dev_err(dev->dev, "inconsistent synclko settings\n");
> >  			return -EINVAL;
> >  		}
> > +
> > +		if (dev->chip_id == KSZ9893_CHIP_ID && (dev->synclko_125 ||
> > +							dev->synclko_disable)) {
> > +			dev_warn(dev->dev, "microchip,synclko-125 and microchip,synclko-disable "
> > +				 "properties are not supported on this chip. "
> > +				 "Please fix you devicetree.\n");
> 
> s/you/your/
> 
> Does KSZ8 have a REFCLK output of any sort? If it doesn't, then
> "microchip,synclko-disable" is kind of supported, right?
> 
> I wonder what there is to gain by saying that you should remove some
> device tree properties from non-ksz9477. After all, anyone can add any
> random properties to a KSZ8 switch OF node and you won't warn about
> those.

Hm, if we will have any random not support OF property in the switch
node. We won't be able to warn about it anyway. So, if it is present
but not supported, we will just ignore it.

I'll drop this patch.

Regards,
Oleksij
-- 
Pengutronix e.K.                           |                             |
Steuerwalder Str. 21                       | http://www.pengutronix.de/  |
31137 Hildesheim, Germany                  | Phone: +49-5121-206917-0    |
Amtsgericht Hildesheim, HRA 2686           | Fax:   +49-5121-206917-5555 |

Powered by blists - more mailing lists