lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 10 Aug 2022 00:04:10 +0200
From:   Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>
To:     daniel.lezcano@...aro.org, rafael@...nel.org
Cc:     rui.zhang@...el.com, linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Raju Rangoju <rajur@...lsio.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Peter Kaestle <peter@...e.net>,
        Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>,
        Mark Gross <markgross@...nel.org>,
        Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>,
        Amit Kucheria <amitk@...nel.org>,
        Nicolas Saenz Julienne <nsaenz@...nel.org>,
        Broadcom Kernel Team <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Ray Jui <rjui@...adcom.com>,
        Scott Branden <sbranden@...adcom.com>,
        Support Opensource <support.opensource@...semi.com>,
        Lukasz Luba <lukasz.luba@....com>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Fabio Estevam <festevam@...il.com>,
        NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>,
        Thara Gopinath <thara.gopinath@...aro.org>,
        Andy Gross <agross@...nel.org>,
        Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        Niklas Söderlund <niklas.soderlund@...natech.se>,
        Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@...il.com>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@...aro.org>,
        Alim Akhtar <alim.akhtar@...sung.com>,
        Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
        Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@...dia.com>,
        Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@...il.com>,
        Keerthy <j-keerthy@...com>,
        Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@...ionext.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Antoine Tenart <atenart@...nel.org>,
        Srinivas Pandruvada <srinivas.pandruvada@...ux.intel.com>,
        Dmitry Osipenko <digetx@...il.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-rpi-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org, linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org, linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-omap@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 00/26] Rework the trip points creation

This work is the pre-requisite of handling correctly when the trip
point are crossed. For that we need to rework how the trip points are
declared and assigned to a thermal zone.

Even if it appears to be a common sense to have the trip points being
ordered, this no guarantee neither documentation telling that is the
case.

One solution could have been to create an ordered array of trips built
when registering the thermal zone by calling the different get_trip*
ops. However those ops receive a thermal zone pointer which is not
known as it is in the process of creating it.

This cyclic dependency shows we have to rework how we manage the trip
points.

Actually, all the trip points definition can be common to the backend
sensor drivers and we can factor out the thermal trip structure in all
of them.

Then, as we register the thermal trips array, they will be available
in the thermal zone structure and a core function can return the trip
given its id.

The get_trip_* ops won't be needed anymore and could be removed. The
resulting code will be another step forward to a self encapsulated
generic thermal framework.

Most of the drivers can be converted more or less easily. This series
does a first round with most of the drivers. Some remain and will be
converted but with a smaller set of changes as the conversion is a bit
more complex.

Changelog:
 v2:
   - Added missing EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL() for thermal_zone_get_trip()
   - Removed tab whitespace in the acerhdf driver
   - Collected tags

Cc: Raju Rangoju <rajur@...lsio.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>
Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Cc: Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>
Cc: Peter Kaestle <peter@...e.net>
Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>
Cc: Mark Gross <markgross@...nel.org>
Cc: Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>
Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>
Cc: Amit Kucheria <amitk@...nel.org>
Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@...el.com>
Cc: Nicolas Saenz Julienne <nsaenz@...nel.org>
Cc: Broadcom Kernel Team <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>
Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
Cc: Ray Jui <rjui@...adcom.com>
Cc: Scott Branden <sbranden@...adcom.com>
Cc: Support Opensource <support.opensource@...semi.com>
Cc: Lukasz Luba <lukasz.luba@....com>
Cc: Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>
Cc: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>
Cc: Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>
Cc: Fabio Estevam <festevam@...il.com>
Cc: NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>
Cc: Thara Gopinath <thara.gopinath@...aro.org>
Cc: Andy Gross <agross@...nel.org>
Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>
Cc: "Niklas Söderlund" <niklas.soderlund@...natech.se>
Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@...il.com>
Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@...aro.org>
Cc: Alim Akhtar <alim.akhtar@...sung.com>
Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>
Cc: Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@...dia.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@...il.com>
Cc: Keerthy <j-keerthy@...com>
Cc: Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@...ionext.com>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>
Cc: Antoine Tenart <atenart@...nel.org>
Cc: Srinivas Pandruvada <srinivas.pandruvada@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Dmitry Osipenko <digetx@...il.com>
Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc: platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org
Cc: linux-pm@...r.kernel.org
Cc: linux-rpi-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
Cc: linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org
Cc: linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org
Cc: linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org
Cc: linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org
Cc: linux-omap@...r.kernel.org

Daniel Lezcano (26):
  thermal/core: encapsulate ops->get_trip_* ops into a function
  thermal/sysfs: Do not make get_trip_hyst optional
  thermal/core/governors: Use thermal_zone_get_trip() instead of ops
    functions
  thermal/drivers/st: Use generic trip points
  thermal/drivers/tegra: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/imx: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/exynos: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/rcar: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/uniphier: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/hisi: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/qcom: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/OF: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/armada: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/core/OF: Remove unused functions
  thermal/drivers/rcar_gen3: Use the generic function to get the number
    of trips
  thermal/drivers/exynos: of_thermal_get_ntrips()
  thermal/core/of: Remove of_thermal_get_ntrips()
  thermal/drivers/exynos: Replace of_thermal_is_trip_valid() by
    thermal_zone_get_trip()
  thermal/core/of: Remove of_thermal_is_trip_valid()
  thermal/drivers/broadcom: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/da9062: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/ti: Remove unused macros ti_thermal_get_trip_value() /
    ti_thermal_trip_is_valid()
  thermal/drivers/acerhdf: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/drivers/cxgb4: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function
  thermal/intel/int340x: Replace parameter to simplify
  thermal/drivers/intel: Use generic thermal_zone_get_trip() function

 drivers/net/ethernet/chelsio/cxgb4/cxgb4.h    |   2 -
 .../ethernet/chelsio/cxgb4/cxgb4_thermal.c    |  41 ++----
 drivers/platform/x86/acerhdf.c                |  73 ++++-------
 drivers/thermal/armada_thermal.c              |  39 +++---
 drivers/thermal/broadcom/bcm2835_thermal.c    |   8 +-
 drivers/thermal/da9062-thermal.c              |  52 ++------
 drivers/thermal/gov_bang_bang.c               |  23 ++--
 drivers/thermal/gov_fair_share.c              |  18 +--
 drivers/thermal/gov_power_allocator.c         |  51 ++++----
 drivers/thermal/gov_step_wise.c               |  22 ++--
 drivers/thermal/hisi_thermal.c                |  11 +-
 drivers/thermal/imx_thermal.c                 |  72 ++++-------
 .../int340x_thermal/int340x_thermal_zone.c    |  31 ++---
 .../int340x_thermal/int340x_thermal_zone.h    |   4 +-
 .../processor_thermal_device.c                |  10 +-
 drivers/thermal/intel/x86_pkg_temp_thermal.c  | 120 ++++++++++--------
 drivers/thermal/qcom/qcom-spmi-temp-alarm.c   |  39 +++---
 drivers/thermal/rcar_gen3_thermal.c           |   2 +-
 drivers/thermal/rcar_thermal.c                |  49 +------
 drivers/thermal/samsung/exynos_tmu.c          |  60 ++++-----
 drivers/thermal/st/st_thermal.c               |  47 +------
 drivers/thermal/tegra/soctherm.c              |  33 ++---
 drivers/thermal/tegra/tegra30-tsensor.c       |  17 ++-
 drivers/thermal/thermal_core.c                |  69 ++++++----
 drivers/thermal/thermal_core.h                |  30 ++---
 drivers/thermal/thermal_helpers.c             |  28 ++--
 drivers/thermal/thermal_netlink.c             |  21 ++-
 drivers/thermal/thermal_of.c                  |  88 -------------
 drivers/thermal/thermal_sysfs.c               |  91 +++++--------
 drivers/thermal/ti-soc-thermal/ti-thermal.h   |  15 ---
 drivers/thermal/uniphier_thermal.c            |  26 ++--
 31 files changed, 435 insertions(+), 757 deletions(-)

-- 
2.34.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists