lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 22 Sep 2022 08:38:06 +0200
From:   Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@...aro.org>
To:     Jianguo Zhang <jianguo.zhang@...iatek.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>,
        AngeloGioacchino Del Regno 
        <angelogioacchino.delregno@...labora.com>
Cc:     Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@...com>,
        Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@...s.st.com>,
        Jose Abreu <joabreu@...opsys.com>,
        Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@...il.com>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Biao Huang <biao.huang@...iatek.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-stm32@...md-mailman.stormreply.com,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/2] dt-bindings: net: snps,dwmac: add clk_csr property

On 22/09/2022 04:15, Jianguo Zhang wrote:
> Dear Krzysztof,
> 
> 	Thanks for your comment.
> 
> On Wed, 2022-09-21 at 10:24 +0200, Krzysztof Kozlowski wrote:
>> On 21/09/2022 09:07, Jianguo Zhang wrote:
>>> Add clk_csr property for snps,dwmac
>>>
>>> Signed-off-by: Jianguo Zhang <jianguo.zhang@...iatek.com>
>>> ---
>>>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/snps,dwmac.yaml | 5 +++++
>>>  1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)
>>>
>>> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/snps,dwmac.yaml
>>> b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/snps,dwmac.yaml
>>> index 491597c02edf..8cff30a8125d 100644
>>> --- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/snps,dwmac.yaml
>>> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/snps,dwmac.yaml
>>> @@ -288,6 +288,11 @@ properties:
>>>        is supported. For example, this is used in case of SGMII and
>>>        MAC2MAC connection.
>>>  
>>> +  clk_csr:
>>
>> No underscores in node names. Missing vendor prefix.
>>
> We will remane the property name 'clk_csr' as 'snps,clk-csr' and
> another driver patch is needed to align the name used in driver with
> the new name. 

You did not say anything that you document existing property. Commit msg
*must* explain why you are doing stuff in commit body.

We should not be asking for this and for reason of clk_csr.

Best regards,
Krzysztof

Powered by blists - more mailing lists