lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 27 Sep 2022 12:44:47 +0200
From:   AngeloGioacchino Del Regno 
        <angelogioacchino.delregno@...labora.com>
To:     Jianguo Zhang <jianguo.zhang@...iatek.com>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@...aro.org>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>
Cc:     Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@...com>,
        Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@...s.st.com>,
        Jose Abreu <joabreu@...opsys.com>,
        Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@...il.com>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Biao Huang <biao.huang@...iatek.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-stm32@...md-mailman.stormreply.com,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 4/4] net: stmmac: Update the name of property 'clk_csr'

Il 27/09/22 10:44, Jianguo Zhang ha scritto:
> Dear Krzysztof,
> 	Thanks for your comment.
> 
> On Fri, 2022-09-23 at 20:15 +0200, Krzysztof Kozlowski wrote:
>> On 23/09/2022 20:14, Krzysztof Kozlowski wrote:
>>>> This is going to break MT2712e on old devicetrees.
>>>>
>>>> The right way of doing that is to check the return value of
>>>> of_property_read_u32()
>>>> for "snps,clk-csr": if the property is not found, fall back to
>>>> the old "clk_csr".
>>>
>>> I must admit - I don't care. That's the effect when submitter
>>> bypasses
>>> DT bindings review (81311c03ab4d ("net: ethernet: stmmac: add
>>> management
>>> of clk_csr property")).
>>>
>>> If anyone wants ABI, please document the properties.
>>>
>>> If out-of-tree users complain, please upstream your DTS or do not
>>> use
>>> undocumented features...
>>>
>>
>> OTOH, as Angelo pointed out, handling old and new properties is quite
>> easy to achieve, so... :)
>>
> So, the conclusion is as following:
> 
> 1. add new property 'snps,clk-csr' and document it in binding file.
> 2. parse new property 'snps,clk-csr' firstly, if failed, fall back to
> old property 'clk_csr' in driver.
> 
> Is my understanding correct?

Yes, please.

I think that bindings should also get a 'clk_csr' with deprecated: true,
but that's Krzysztof's call.

Regards,
Angelo

> 
>> Best regards,
>> Krzysztof
>>
> BRS
> Jianguo
> 


Powered by blists - more mailing lists