lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 30 Sep 2022 13:48:51 -0700
From:   Jacob Keller <jacob.e.keller@...el.com>
To:     netdev@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Jacob Keller <jacob.e.keller@...el.com>,
        "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@...rosoft.com>,
        Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@...rosoft.com>,
        Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@...rosoft.com>,
        Wei Liu <wei.liu@...nel.org>, Dexuan Cui <decui@...rosoft.com>,
        Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
        Shyam Sundar S K <Shyam-sundar.S-k@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Siva Reddy Kallam <siva.kallam@...adcom.com>,
        Prashant Sreedharan <prashant@...adcom.com>,
        Michael Chan <mchan@...adcom.com>,
        Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@...wei.com>,
        Salil Mehta <salil.mehta@...wei.com>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Tony Nguyen <anthony.l.nguyen@...el.com>,
        Tariq Toukan <tariqt@...dia.com>,
        Saeed Mahameed <saeedm@...dia.com>,
        Leon Romanovsky <leon@...nel.org>,
        Bryan Whitehead <bryan.whitehead@...rochip.com>,
        Sergey Shtylyov <s.shtylyov@....ru>,
        Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@...com>,
        Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@...s.st.com>,
        Jose Abreu <joabreu@...opsys.com>,
        Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@...il.com>,
        Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>,
        Vivek Thampi <vithampi@...are.com>,
        VMware PV-Drivers Reviewers <pv-drivers@...are.com>,
        Jie Wang <wangjie125@...wei.com>,
        Guangbin Huang <huangguangbin2@...wei.com>,
        Eran Ben Elisha <eranbe@...dia.com>,
        Aya Levin <ayal@...dia.com>,
        Cai Huoqing <cai.huoqing@...ux.dev>,
        Biju Das <biju.das.jz@...renesas.com>,
        Lad Prabhakar <prabhakar.mahadev-lad.rj@...renesas.com>,
        Phil Edworthy <phil.edworthy@...esas.com>,
        Jiasheng Jiang <jiasheng@...as.ac.cn>,
        "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        Wan Jiabing <wanjiabing@...o.com>,
        Lv Ruyi <lv.ruyi@....com.cn>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
Subject: [net-next v2 9/9] ptp: xgbe: convert to .adjfine and adjust_by_scaled_ppm

The xgbe implementation of .adjfreq is implemented in terms of a
straight forward "base * ppb / 1 billion" calculation.

Convert this driver to .adjfine and use adjust_by_scaled_ppm to calculate
the new addend value.

Signed-off-by: Jacob Keller <jacob.e.keller@...el.com>
Acked-by: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>
Cc: Shyam Sundar S K <Shyam-sundar.S-k@....com>
---
 drivers/net/ethernet/amd/xgbe/xgbe-ptp.c | 20 ++++----------------
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 16 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/amd/xgbe/xgbe-ptp.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/amd/xgbe/xgbe-ptp.c
index d06d260cf1e2..7051bd7cf6dc 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/amd/xgbe/xgbe-ptp.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/amd/xgbe/xgbe-ptp.c
@@ -134,27 +134,15 @@ static u64 xgbe_cc_read(const struct cyclecounter *cc)
 	return nsec;
 }
 
-static int xgbe_adjfreq(struct ptp_clock_info *info, s32 delta)
+static int xgbe_adjfine(struct ptp_clock_info *info, long scaled_ppm)
 {
 	struct xgbe_prv_data *pdata = container_of(info,
 						   struct xgbe_prv_data,
 						   ptp_clock_info);
 	unsigned long flags;
-	u64 adjust;
-	u32 addend, diff;
-	unsigned int neg_adjust = 0;
+	u64 addend;
 
-	if (delta < 0) {
-		neg_adjust = 1;
-		delta = -delta;
-	}
-
-	adjust = pdata->tstamp_addend;
-	adjust *= delta;
-	diff = div_u64(adjust, 1000000000UL);
-
-	addend = (neg_adjust) ? pdata->tstamp_addend - diff :
-				pdata->tstamp_addend + diff;
+	addend = adjust_by_scaled_ppm(pdata->tstamp_addend, scaled_ppm);
 
 	spin_lock_irqsave(&pdata->tstamp_lock, flags);
 
@@ -235,7 +223,7 @@ void xgbe_ptp_register(struct xgbe_prv_data *pdata)
 		 netdev_name(pdata->netdev));
 	info->owner = THIS_MODULE;
 	info->max_adj = pdata->ptpclk_rate;
-	info->adjfreq = xgbe_adjfreq;
+	info->adjfine = xgbe_adjfine;
 	info->adjtime = xgbe_adjtime;
 	info->gettime64 = xgbe_gettime;
 	info->settime64 = xgbe_settime;
-- 
2.37.1.394.gc50926e1f488

Powered by blists - more mailing lists