lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 6 Oct 2022 17:22:41 +0000
From:   Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@...roup.eu>
To:     "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "patches@...ts.linux.dev" <patches@...ts.linux.dev>
CC:     Andreas Noever <andreas.noever@...il.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Christoph Böhmwalder 
        <christoph.boehmwalder@...bit.com>, Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Dave Airlie <airlied@...hat.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Florian Westphal <fw@...len.de>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Heiko Carstens <hca@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
        Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
        Huacai Chen <chenhuacai@...nel.org>,
        Hugh Dickins <hughd@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        "James E . J . Bottomley" <jejb@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Jan Kara <jack@...e.com>, Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>,
        Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Johannes Berg <johannes@...solutions.net>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Jozsef Kadlecsik <kadlec@...filter.org>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...nel.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Pablo Neira Ayuso <pablo@...filter.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
        Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@...ha.franken.de>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Thomas Graf <tgraf@...g.ch>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Vignesh Raghavendra <vigneshr@...com>,
        WANG Xuerui <kernel@...0n.name>, Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Yury Norov <yury.norov@...il.com>,
        "dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org" <dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org>,
        "kasan-dev@...glegroups.com" <kasan-dev@...glegroups.com>,
        "kernel-janitors@...r.kernel.org" <kernel-janitors@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "linux-block@...r.kernel.org" <linux-block@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org" <linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-doc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-media@...r.kernel.org" <linux-media@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-mips@...r.kernel.org" <linux-mips@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-mm@...ck.org" <linux-mm@...ck.org>,
        "linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "linux-nvme@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-nvme@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-rdma@...r.kernel.org" <linux-rdma@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-s390@...r.kernel.org" <linux-s390@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-um@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-um@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "linux-usb@...r.kernel.org" <linux-usb@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org" <linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org" <linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org>,
        "loongarch@...ts.linux.dev" <loongarch@...ts.linux.dev>,
        "netdev@...r.kernel.org" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        "sparclinux@...r.kernel.org" <sparclinux@...r.kernel.org>,
        "x86@...nel.org" <x86@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 4/5] treewide: use get_random_bytes when possible



Le 06/10/2022 à 18:53, Jason A. Donenfeld a écrit :
> The prandom_bytes() function has been a deprecated inline wrapper around
> get_random_bytes() for several releases now, and compiles down to the
> exact same code. Replace the deprecated wrapper with a direct call to
> the real function.
> 
> Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> Signed-off-by: Jason A. Donenfeld <Jason@...c4.com>

Reviewed-by: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@...roup.eu> (Powerpc part)

> ---
>   arch/powerpc/crypto/crc-vpmsum_test.c       |  2 +-
> 
> diff --git a/arch/powerpc/crypto/crc-vpmsum_test.c b/arch/powerpc/crypto/crc-vpmsum_test.c
> index c1c1ef9457fb..273c527868db 100644
> --- a/arch/powerpc/crypto/crc-vpmsum_test.c
> +++ b/arch/powerpc/crypto/crc-vpmsum_test.c
> @@ -82,7 +82,7 @@ static int __init crc_test_init(void)
>   
>   			if (len <= offset)
>   				continue;
> -			prandom_bytes(data, len);
> +			get_random_bytes(data, len);
>   			len -= offset;
>   
>   			crypto_shash_update(crct10dif_shash, data+offset, len);

Powered by blists - more mailing lists