lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 28 Oct 2022 11:23:32 +0200
From:   Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>
To:     Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>,
        <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk+dt@...nel.org>,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@...tlin.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Robert Marko <robert.marko@...tura.hr>,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
        Michael Walle <michael@...le.cc>,
        Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>
Subject: [PATCH 0/5] ONIE tlv nvmem layout support

Hello,

Here is a series bringing support for an NVMEM layout parser. The table
that will get processed has been standardized by the ONIE project [1]
and its content is highly dependent on the manufacturer choices. There
is a dedicated process to read it, but in no case we can define the
nvmem cells location/length statically in the DT like other NVMEM
cells. Instead, we need what the "layout" abstraction proposed here [2]
brings: a dynamic way to find and export NVMEM cells. So this series is
actually dependent on [2] and cannot be merged without it.

The mvpp2 patch is an example of use which was useful to me during my
test runs, so I figured out it might make sense to upstream it. I am not
100% convinced this is the right way so reviews there are welcome.

[1] https://opencomputeproject.github.io/onie/design-spec/hw_requirements.html
[2] https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel/20220921115813.208ff789@xps-13/T/

Cheers,
Miquèl

Miquel Raynal (5):
  dt-bindings: vendor-prefixes: Add ONIE
  dt-bindings: nvmem: add YAML schema for the ONIE tlv layout
  nvmem: layouts: Add ONIE tlv layout driver
  MAINTAINERS: Add myself as ONIE tlv NVMEM layout maintainer
  net: mvpp2: Consider NVMEM cells as possible MAC address source

 .../nvmem/layouts/onie,tlv-layout.yaml        |  96 +++++++
 .../devicetree/bindings/vendor-prefixes.yaml  |   2 +
 MAINTAINERS                                   |   6 +
 .../net/ethernet/marvell/mvpp2/mvpp2_main.c   |   6 +
 drivers/nvmem/layouts/Kconfig                 |   9 +
 drivers/nvmem/layouts/Makefile                |   1 +
 drivers/nvmem/layouts/onie-tlv.c              | 240 ++++++++++++++++++
 7 files changed, 360 insertions(+)
 create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/nvmem/layouts/onie,tlv-layout.yaml
 create mode 100644 drivers/nvmem/layouts/onie-tlv.c

-- 
2.34.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists