lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 23 Oct 2023 11:33:41 +0200
From: Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@...gutronix.de>
To: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
	Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
	Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>,
	Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@...rochip.com>,
	Arun Ramadoss <arun.ramadoss@...rochip.com>,
	Conor Dooley <conor+dt@...nel.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>
Cc: Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@...gutronix.de>,
	Florian Fainelli <florian.fainelli@...adcom.com>,
	kernel@...gutronix.de,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com,
	"Russell King (Oracle)" <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH net-next v7 7/9] net: dsa: microchip: Add error handling for ksz_switch_macaddr_get()

Enhance the ksz_switch_macaddr_get() function to handle errors that may
occur during the call to ksz_write8(). Specifically, this update checks
the return value of ksz_write8(), which may fail if regmap ranges
validation is not passed and returns the error code.

Signed-off-by: Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@...gutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
Reviewed-by: Florian Fainelli <florian.fainelli@...adcom.com>
---
 drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c | 16 +++++++++++++---
 1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c b/drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c
index 0442c1b628d9..58ba1e6ff75f 100644
--- a/drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c
+++ b/drivers/net/dsa/microchip/ksz_common.c
@@ -3640,7 +3640,7 @@ int ksz_switch_macaddr_get(struct dsa_switch *ds, int port,
 	struct ksz_switch_macaddr *switch_macaddr;
 	struct ksz_device *dev = ds->priv;
 	const u16 *regs = dev->info->regs;
-	int i;
+	int i, ret;
 
 	/* Make sure concurrent MAC address changes are blocked */
 	ASSERT_RTNL();
@@ -3667,10 +3667,20 @@ int ksz_switch_macaddr_get(struct dsa_switch *ds, int port,
 	dev->switch_macaddr = switch_macaddr;
 
 	/* Program the switch MAC address to hardware */
-	for (i = 0; i < ETH_ALEN; i++)
-		ksz_write8(dev, regs[REG_SW_MAC_ADDR] + i, addr[i]);
+	for (i = 0; i < ETH_ALEN; i++) {
+		ret = ksz_write8(dev, regs[REG_SW_MAC_ADDR] + i, addr[i]);
+		if (ret)
+			goto macaddr_drop;
+	}
 
 	return 0;
+
+macaddr_drop:
+	dev->switch_macaddr = NULL;
+	refcount_set(&switch_macaddr->refcount, 0);
+	kfree(switch_macaddr);
+
+	return ret;
 }
 
 void ksz_switch_macaddr_put(struct dsa_switch *ds)
-- 
2.39.2


Powered by blists - more mailing lists