lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 13 Nov 2023 20:03:15 -0600
From: Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>, Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>, Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@...tlin.com>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>, Christian Marangi <ansuelsmth@...il.com>, Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, Florian Fainelli <florian.fainelli@...adcom.com>, Conor Dooley <conor+dt@...nel.org>, Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>, Sebastian Hesselbarth <sebastian.hesselbarth@...il.com>, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org, Marek BehĂșn <kabel@...nel.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v8 2/9] dt-bindings: net: mvusb: Fix up DSA
 example


On Tue, 14 Nov 2023 00:35:57 +0100, Linus Walleij wrote:
> When adding a proper schema for the Marvell mx88e6xxx switch,
> the scripts start complaining about this embedded example:
> 
>   dtschema/dtc warnings/errors:
>   net/marvell,mvusb.example.dtb: switch@0: ports: '#address-cells'
>   is a required property
>   from schema $id: http://devicetree.org/schemas/net/dsa/marvell,mv88e6xxx.yaml#
>   net/marvell,mvusb.example.dtb: switch@0: ports: '#size-cells'
>   is a required property
>   from schema $id: http://devicetree.org/schemas/net/dsa/marvell,mv88e6xxx.yaml#
> 
> Fix this up by extending the example with those properties in
> the ports node.
> 
> While we are at it, rename "ports" to "ethernet-ports" and rename
> "switch" to "ethernet-switch" as this is recommended practice.
> 
> Reviewed-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
> Reviewed-by: Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>
> Reviewed-by: Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>
> Reviewed-by: Florian Fainelli <florian.fainelli@...adcom.com>
> Signed-off-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
> ---
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/marvell,mvusb.yaml | 7 +++++--
>  1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> 

My bot found errors running 'make DT_CHECKER_FLAGS=-m dt_binding_check'
on your patch (DT_CHECKER_FLAGS is new in v5.13):

yamllint warnings/errors:

dtschema/dtc warnings/errors:
Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/marvell,mvusb.example.dtb: /example-0/usb/mdio@...thernet-switch@0: failed to match any schema with compatible: ['marvell,mv88e6190']

doc reference errors (make refcheckdocs):

See https://patchwork.ozlabs.org/project/devicetree-bindings/patch/20231114-marvell-88e6152-wan-led-v8-2-50688741691b@linaro.org

The base for the series is generally the latest rc1. A different dependency
should be noted in *this* patch.

If you already ran 'make dt_binding_check' and didn't see the above
error(s), then make sure 'yamllint' is installed and dt-schema is up to
date:

pip3 install dtschema --upgrade

Please check and re-submit after running the above command yourself. Note
that DT_SCHEMA_FILES can be set to your schema file to speed up checking
your schema. However, it must be unset to test all examples with your schema.


Powered by blists - more mailing lists