lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 14 Nov 2023 12:28:34 +0100
From: Kory Maincent <kory.maincent@...tlin.com>
To: Florian Fainelli <florian.fainelli@...adcom.com>, 
 Broadcom internal kernel review list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>, 
 Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>, Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>, 
 Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, 
 "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>, 
 Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, 
 Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>, 
 Radu Pirea <radu-nicolae.pirea@....nxp.com>, 
 Jay Vosburgh <j.vosburgh@...il.com>, Andy Gospodarek <andy@...yhouse.net>, 
 Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...rochip.com>, 
 Claudiu Beznea <claudiu.beznea@...on.dev>, 
 Willem de Bruijn <willemdebruijn.kernel@...il.com>, 
 Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, 
 Horatiu Vultur <horatiu.vultur@...rochip.com>, UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com, 
 Simon Horman <horms@...nel.org>, Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>
Cc: Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org, 
 linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, 
 Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@...tlin.com>, 
 Kory Maincent <kory.maincent@...tlin.com>
Subject: [PATCH net-next v7 06/16] net: phy: micrel: fix ts_info value in
 case of no phc

In case of no phc we should not return SOFTWARE TIMESTAMPING flags as we do
not know whether the netdev supports of timestamping.
Remove it from the lan8841_ts_info and simply return 0.

Signed-off-by: Kory Maincent <kory.maincent@...tlin.com>
---

This patch is not tested but it seems consistent to me.

Changes in v6:
- Update the commit message.
---
 drivers/net/phy/micrel.c | 6 +-----
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/phy/micrel.c b/drivers/net/phy/micrel.c
index 99af1e500c6c..bd4cd082662f 100644
--- a/drivers/net/phy/micrel.c
+++ b/drivers/net/phy/micrel.c
@@ -3629,12 +3629,8 @@ static int lan8841_ts_info(struct mii_timestamper *mii_ts,
 
 	info->phc_index = ptp_priv->ptp_clock ?
 				ptp_clock_index(ptp_priv->ptp_clock) : -1;
-	if (info->phc_index == -1) {
-		info->so_timestamping |= SOF_TIMESTAMPING_TX_SOFTWARE |
-					 SOF_TIMESTAMPING_RX_SOFTWARE |
-					 SOF_TIMESTAMPING_SOFTWARE;
+	if (info->phc_index == -1)
 		return 0;
-	}
 
 	info->so_timestamping = SOF_TIMESTAMPING_TX_HARDWARE |
 				SOF_TIMESTAMPING_RX_HARDWARE |

-- 
2.25.1


Powered by blists - more mailing lists