lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 17 Nov 2023 10:12:46 +0100
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>
To: Cristian Ciocaltea <cristian.ciocaltea@...labora.com>
Cc: Conor Dooley <conor@...nel.org>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>, Conor Dooley <conor+dt@...nel.org>, 
	Emil Renner Berthing <kernel@...il.dk>, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, 
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>, Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, 
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>, 
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>, Samin Guo <samin.guo@...rfivetech.com>, 
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@...ive.com>, Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@...belt.com>, 
	Albert Ou <aou@...s.berkeley.edu>, Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@...s.st.com>, 
	Jose Abreu <joabreu@...opsys.com>, Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@...il.com>, 
	Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>, Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@...com>, 
	netdev@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org, 
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-riscv@...ts.infradead.org, 
	linux-stm32@...md-mailman.stormreply.com, 
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, kernel@...labora.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 12/12] [UNTESTED] riscv: dts: starfive:
 beaglev-starlight: Enable gmac

Hi Cristian,

On Fri, Nov 17, 2023 at 9:59 AM Cristian Ciocaltea
<cristian.ciocaltea@...labora.com> wrote:
> On 11/17/23 10:49, Cristian Ciocaltea wrote:
> > On 11/17/23 10:37, Geert Uytterhoeven wrote:
> >> On Thu, Nov 16, 2023 at 6:55 PM Conor Dooley <conor@...nel.org> wrote:
> >>> On Thu, Nov 16, 2023 at 03:15:46PM +0200, Cristian Ciocaltea wrote:
> >>>> On 10/30/23 00:53, Cristian Ciocaltea wrote:
> >>>>> On 10/29/23 20:46, Andrew Lunn wrote:
> >>>>>> On Sun, Oct 29, 2023 at 06:27:12AM +0200, Cristian Ciocaltea wrote:
> >>>>>>> The BeagleV Starlight SBC uses a Microchip KSZ9031RNXCA PHY supporting
> >>>>>>> RGMII-ID.
> >>>>>>>
> >>>>>>> TODO: Verify if manual adjustment of the RX internal delay is needed. If
> >>>>>>> yes, add the mdio & phy sub-nodes.
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>> Please could you try to get this tested. It might shed some light on
> >>>>>> what is going on here, since it is a different PHY.
> >>>>>
> >>>>> Actually, this is the main reason I added the patch. I don't have access
> >>>>> to this board, so it would be great if we could get some help with testing.
> >>>>
> >>>> @Emil, @Conor: Any idea who might help us with a quick test on the
> >>>> BeagleV Starlight board?
> >>>
> >>> I don't have one & I am not sure if Emil does. Geert (CCed) should have
> >>
> >> I believe Esmil has.
> >>
> >>> one though. Is there a specific test you need to have done?
> >>
> >> I gave it a try, on top of latest renesas-drivers[1].
>
> [...]
>
> >>
> >> Looks like it needs more non-coherent support before we can test
> >> Ethernet.
> >
> > Hi Geert,
> >
> > Thanks for taking the time to test this!
> >
> > Could you please check if the following are enabled in your kernel config:
> >
> >   CONFIG_DMA_GLOBAL_POOL
> >   CONFIG_RISCV_DMA_NONCOHERENT
> >   CONFIG_RISCV_NONSTANDARD_CACHE_OPS
> >   CONFIG_SIFIVE_CCACHE

CONFIG_DMA_GLOBAL_POOL and CONFIG_RISCV_NONSTANDARD_CACHE_OPS were
indeed no longer enabled, as they cannot be enabled manually.

After cherry-picking commit e14ad9ff67fd51dc ("riscv: errata: Add
StarFive JH7100 errata") in esmil/visionfive these options become
enabled. Now it gets a bit further, but still lots of CCACHE DataFail
errors.

> Also please note the series requires the SiFive Composable Cache
> controller patches provided by Emil [1].
>
> [1]: https://lore.kernel.org/all/20231031141444.53426-1-emil.renner.berthing@canonical.com/

That series does not contain any Kconfig changes, so there must be
other missing dependencies?

Perhaps I should just defer to Emil ;-)

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

-- 
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@...ux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

Powered by blists - more mailing lists