lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Sat, 18 Nov 2023 16:13:13 +0300
From: Arınç ÜNAL <arinc.unal@...nc9.com>
To: Arınç ÜNAL <arinc.unal@...nc9.com>,
	Daniel Golle <daniel@...rotopia.org>,
	Landen Chao <Landen.Chao@...iatek.com>,
	DENG Qingfang <dqfext@...il.com>,
	Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>,
	Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
	Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
	Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
	Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
	AngeloGioacchino Del Regno <angelogioacchino.delregno@...labora.com>,
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>
Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org,
	Frank Wunderlich <frank-w@...lic-files.de>,
	Bartel Eerdekens <bartel.eerdekens@...stell8.be>,
	mithat.guner@...ont.com,
	erkin.bozoglu@...ont.com
Subject: [PATCH net-next 11/15] net: dsa: mt7530: move XTAL check to mt7530_setup()

The crystal frequency concerns the switch core. The frequency should be
checked when the switch is being set up so the driver can reject the
unsupported hardware earlier and without requiring port 6 to be used.

Move it to mt7530_setup(). Drop the unnecessary function printing.

Signed-off-by: Arınç ÜNAL <arinc.unal@...nc9.com>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
---
 drivers/net/dsa/mt7530.c | 13 ++++++-------
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/dsa/mt7530.c b/drivers/net/dsa/mt7530.c
index efe5ffe3455d..167b340350b3 100644
--- a/drivers/net/dsa/mt7530.c
+++ b/drivers/net/dsa/mt7530.c
@@ -422,13 +422,6 @@ mt7530_setup_port6(struct dsa_switch *ds, phy_interface_t interface)
 
 	xtal = mt7530_read(priv, MT7530_MHWTRAP) & HWTRAP_XTAL_MASK;
 
-	if (xtal == HWTRAP_XTAL_20MHZ) {
-		dev_err(priv->dev,
-			"%s: MT7530 with a 20MHz XTAL is not supported!\n",
-			__func__);
-		return -EINVAL;
-	}
-
 	switch (interface) {
 	case PHY_INTERFACE_MODE_RGMII:
 		trgint = 0;
@@ -2235,6 +2228,12 @@ mt7530_setup(struct dsa_switch *ds)
 		return -ENODEV;
 	}
 
+	if ((val & HWTRAP_XTAL_MASK) == HWTRAP_XTAL_20MHZ) {
+		dev_err(priv->dev,
+			"MT7530 with a 20MHz XTAL is not supported!\n");
+		return -EINVAL;
+	}
+
 	/* Reset the switch through internal reset */
 	mt7530_write(priv, MT7530_SYS_CTRL,
 		     SYS_CTRL_PHY_RST | SYS_CTRL_SW_RST |
-- 
2.40.1


Powered by blists - more mailing lists