lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 20 Nov 2023 19:09:55 +0000
From: "Russell King (Oracle)" <linux@...linux.org.uk>
To: Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
	Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>,
	Köry Maincent <kory.maincent@...tlin.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <florian.fainelli@...adcom.com>,
	Broadcom internal kernel review list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
	Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>,
	Radu Pirea <radu-nicolae.pirea@....nxp.com>,
	Jay Vosburgh <j.vosburgh@...il.com>,
	Andy Gospodarek <andy@...yhouse.net>,
	Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...rochip.com>,
	Claudiu Beznea <claudiu.beznea@...on.dev>,
	Willem de Bruijn <willemdebruijn.kernel@...il.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Horatiu Vultur <horatiu.vultur@...rochip.com>,
	UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com, Simon Horman <horms@...nel.org>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@...tlin.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v7 15/16] net: ethtool: ts: Let the active time
 stamping layer be selectable

On Mon, Nov 20, 2023 at 07:39:35PM +0100, Andrew Lunn wrote:
> > What about my use case of having a NIC which can stamp at a low rate
> > at the PHY (for PTP) and high rate at the DMA block (for congestion
> > control)? Both stamp points have the same PHC index.
> 
> How theoretical is that? To me, it seems more likely you have two PHC.
> 
> The PHY stamping tends to be slow because of the MDIO bus. If the MAC
> has fast access to the PHC, it means its not on the MDIO bus. It
> probably means you have the PHY integrated into the MAC/SoC, so the
> MAC can access it. But if its integrated like this, i don't see why
> PHY stamping should be particularly slow. So you can probably use it
> for congestion control. And then you don't need DMA stamping.
> 
> Do you know of real hardware with a MAC and a PHY sharing a PHC?

Not so much a MAC and PHY sharing a PHC, but I notice in USXGMII-M,
there is the ability for the PHY to pass the timestamp back to the MAC
through the USXGMII-M connection - which would eliminate the problems
of accessing the PHY to get that the timestamps.

-- 
RMK's Patch system: https://www.armlinux.org.uk/developer/patches/
FTTP is here! 80Mbps down 10Mbps up. Decent connectivity at last!

Powered by blists - more mailing lists