lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 20 Nov 2023 23:14:32 +0100
From: Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
To: Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@...gutronix.de>
Cc: Köry Maincent <kory.maincent@...tlin.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
	Russ Weight <russ.weight@...ux.dev>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>,
	Conor Dooley <conor+dt@...nel.org>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 2/9] ethtool: Expand Ethernet Power Equipment
 with PoE alongside PoDL

> > However, everything not PoDL PSE seems to be clause 33. So how about:
> > 
> > 	enum ethtool_podl_pse_admin_state podl_admin_control;
> > 	enum ethtool_c33_pse_admin_state c33_admin_control;  
> > 
> > At least inside the kernel we use c22, c45, c37 etc. I'm not sure they
> > are visible to userspace, but if we don't have a better name, maybe we
> > have to use c33 in userspace as well.
> > 
> > I do think naming like this makes it clear we are talking about two
> > parallel technologies, not a generic layer and then extensions for
> > podl.
> > 
> > What do you think?
> 
> I'm OK with it.

Great.

> 
> Köry, can you please include some kernel documentation in your patches?
> Something like this. I hope it will help to clarify things :) :

This is good. I'm just wondering where to put it. Ideally we want to
cross reference to it in both this header file, and in the netlink
UAPI.

	Andrew

Powered by blists - more mailing lists